Yummy Taco Salad Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Great! Here were my adjustments: added guacamole seasoning and onions to the avocadoes. Use plain greek yogurt instead of sourcream (lessen the fat :)). Also added a layer of lettuce on the sourcream. Mixed the diced tomatoes with fajita seasoning (didn't have any taco seasoning). yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I recently made this for a party, and it was a hit. I added some chopped fresh cilantro to the guacamole layer, as well as lime juice, and that gave it a nice flavor. I used grape tomatoes chopped in half rather than big tomatoes, just to cut down on the amount of liquid. Also cut the amount of cheese in half, and it was still plenty. Topped with pickled jalapeno slices for added flavor. Served it with white corn tortilla chips. We'll definitely make this one again - so easy and good and easy to customize for your own personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This is an old classic, I only tweak it by buying store made guacamole, using 4 Roma tomatoes, chopped olives and only 8 oz. of shredded Mexican style cheese. I end up serving it with a spoon on the side as well as those teeny little spreaders so people can do their own spreading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Made it for a potluck. People love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I've been making my Seven Layer Taco Dip this way for years and it is always a huge hit. I think it is less heavy than the versions with cream cheese. I serve it in a 9-10 inch round, glass quiche dish and the presentation is pretty. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Doesn't serve 56 but enough for a small gathering. I use black beans a layer of fresh salsa and lime juice, add diced green chili's. This is a party pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I have made this appetizer for a number of parties and now get requests to bring it for parties. 16 oz. of cheese is a little too much -- I only use an 8 oz. package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This one is a classic that never fails to please. I made mine in a pyrex baking dish that was about 10"x10" and I felt as though 16 oz of cheese was a bit too much (I'd already grated a pound so I put it all on), I think it really depends on how big the surface area your dish of choice is. Also, I would definitly suggest seeding your tomatoes before dicing them, it will prevent the dip from getting wet and it will keep a lot better. This is one of those recipes I can never stop myself from eating too much of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
I love this dip, I add diced tomatoes and diced fresh jalapenos to mine, also great served with fresh cut red peppers and carrots, can't have too many chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
I make this dip ALL the time. I add a can of diced jalapenos instead of green onions. Also if you like heat, use the HOT taco seasoning mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States