Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
this is almost identical to a recipe I have been making for years at Thanksgiving.there are only two differences that I can see;this recipe uses milk, and in the topping it uses flour. The recipe I have calls for evaporated milk (same amount), and instead of flour, you crush up some Frosted Flakes and mix them with the sugar and butter. This recipe really is amazing! It's gotten rave reviews from everyone who's ever tried it, and I've brought it to a lot of Holiday pot lucks! So much better than marshmallows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is similar to one my family uses. We use canned sweet potatoes, drained and mashed, leave out the milk and follow the remainder of the recipe. Even my son eats these and he hates sweet potatoes. This year, I baked them in a 8"x 8" baking dish which made the layers a bit thicker and had only a few left after Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjd1247

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is so full of calories but once you've tried this you'll forget about it for the day!!! My friends request this all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Fleeson King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I love sweet potato casserole and this is by far my favorite. I found this similar recipe using a cast iron skillet. I highly recommend using the cast iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is pretty much the recipe I have used for years. I do add cinnamon/nutmeg, and I use less milk but add a 1/4 cup of orange juice, pineapple juice works too. The citrus adds so much flavor. The topping is what makes this casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I make a similar version but add 1/4 cup of bourbon. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
We have used this for the last 2 years, it's a fave now! I bake my sweet potatoes, I think it's a richer flavor and keeps more vitamins. I also felt that they came out too thin in the 9x13 pan, so I used one of my Corning casserole dishes. Addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
1 full cup of sugar and 7 tablespoons of butter? Surely there is a healthier approach to this. It looks about as healthy as a piece of pie or birthday cake. Sweet potatoes are naturally wonderful...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This recipe is the best! There is no need to add other ingredients or modify it in any way. Every time we have a family get together this is the one they ask for. Delectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe for years and the whole family raves about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,754) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States