Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I made this recipe dairy and gluten free!! I also changed it up by baking my sweet potatoes and then skinning them. I then cut them into chunks and pour the liquid mixture over the chunks of sweet potatoe. I choose to use brown sugar in the first half of the recipe and then for the crumb topping I used oat flour. I also used a butter alternative and it was AWESOME. Due to the consistency of the oat flour I had to change it in order for the crumbs to be crumbs... not goop. I looked for a way to alter this recipe for my gluten free, dairy free needs and came up empty handed so I have had to experiment. For starters I doubled the recipe because it gets inhaled! I used 1 1/2 cups of oat flour and 1 1/2 cups brown sugar with six tablespoons of butter alternative. I melt the butter and drizzle it into the dry mixture and fold the dry mixture onto the melted butter. The result is huge chunky crumbs like on cake boss!!! I also glazed my pecans so they are like candy from recipe I found. Egg white, 2 teaspoons of water, 2 tsp. of vanilla and a tsp. of salt, whipped until frothy and then add 1 cup of sugar. I chopped my pecans really small and then put them into the glaze mixture. Bake at 325 for 30 minutes, turning them over after 15 minutes. I then sprinkle them on top of the crumb topping before the marshmallows! This, my friends is heaven. I cannot eat pie anymore really so this is my dessert. I hope all of those gluten free, dairy free people enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is a great recipe to adapt for diabetics! Have made it substituting Ideal brand sweetener and it tastes great. Could not find that brand this year, so I substituted a stevia blend and it also tastes great. Other than the sweetener substitution, I baked the sweet potatoes, and followed the rest of recipe as stated. Everyone enjoys these, even the non-diabetics in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Fabulous sweet potatoes! But consider that this comes from someone who doesn't like sweet potatoes and these come out almost like a dessert, doing a nice job of overpowering the potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This is just like dessert! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This was fabulous! My whole family loved it at our Thanksgiving dinner and they are not sweet potato fans. Recipe is a keeper and one I will make over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bev
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Amazing recipe! The only changes I made were from a previous rating as follows: added 1tbsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it! Creamy and rich. I cut down on the sugar because the pecan topping was sweet. Will keep this as a family recipe and will be making it for X'mas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinArgentina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aluminé, Neuquén, Argentina
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
good but a bit sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly (the only thing is I added a dash of cinnamon to the sweet potato mixture) and every single of my 12 guests raved about it. This dish is not known/common here where I live (Spain) but it already has been requested for me to bring it to Xmas dinner next week and I feel it's going to become a staple for Holidays to come. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States