Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
YUM! I made this for Thanksgiving this year and even those in my family that don't like sweet potatoes loved it! I did add marshmallows in with the sweet potatoes and used Splenda brown sugar substitute. Amazing. Next time I make it I think I will try adding some crushed pineapple. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Charlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This recipe is incredible. I made it for Thanksgiving, and it disappeared. The pecan topping is amazing. My husband asked me to make another one three days later! I doubled the recipe and it was once again delicious. I'm saving this one for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Loved this recipe. I added 3/4 tsp of ground ginger to the potato mixture and made 1 3/4 as much topping (almost doubled it). I usually cheat and use canned yams but this time I used the real sweet potato. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Excellent. I took reviewers advice and baked potatoes. They released lots of natural sugars this way and was easier than peeling and boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
This is delicious and easy to make. I ended up baking peeled yams in foil and dumping that in the mixer bowl. Couldn't be simpler and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QuebecGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Casa Grande, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This was alright, not sensational, I felt there was something missing in it, as it was a bit bland. Next time I think I will double the topping on it and add brown sugar instead of white and maybe cinnamon and nutmeg to the sweet potato mixture. It was probably the most disappointing dish on the table at Thanksgiving, but that said it was disappointing when compared to a spread of dishes that everyone raved about, this had to be my most successful Thanksgiving yet as there wasn't a single dish that anyone thought wasn't good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angel Grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
My son loves yams. BUT I can't believe you only need 4 cups and it serves 12? I always have this fear of not making anough when trying a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Yummy!!! I wanted to do something different with sweet potatoes this year for Thanksgiving, so I tried this recipe. Everyone loved it! Easy to make too. The only change I made was to double the recipe but I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup brown sugar in the sweet potato mixture. Next time I will try with evaporated milk. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
We enjoyed this dish...made it the day before Thanksgiving, took it out of the fridge to bring to room temp before putting into the oven. What I won't do next time is double the topping for a single batch as some comments had suggested...way too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I love this recipe and it is now a staple for our family's Thanksgiving spread. I make one alteration to this recipe. I pull out the casserole after about 10 minutes and add about 3/4 a bag of Mini-marshmallows over the top of the sugar and pecan mixture then bake the whole thing for another 30 minutes. I'm still playing with the cooking timing because the toasted marshmallows are really good if they do not over-cook. I feel the extra time is needed because the casserole doesn't quite seem done to me after only 30 minutes. So by cooking for 10 minutes first, then adding in the minis, just about the time they start to brown the casserole is just about done. My family also moves this to the dessert menu as opposed to a yam side dish - and we're okay with that! I've also made with regular marshmallows. I think it's just easier to manage the cooking time with the minis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,930) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States