Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made this at my Thanksgiving table this year. Very good and added per others' suggestion an eyeball amount of nutmeg, cinnamon and ground cloves. Some people at my table did find the topping of the casserole too sweet. Will eliminate next time the topping and maybe just add some small marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I used 5 large sweet potatoes but did not increase the amount of streusel. As advised by others, I used evap. milk instead of reg. milk, halved the white sugar, doubled the vanilla, and added 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the sweet potatoes. I then added 1/2 tsp cinnamon to the streusel mixture. I prepared this hours before serving and then baked just before eating. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
This was a big hit at my Thanksgiving dinner. Easy to make. I had made two pans of this and I had none left! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was amazing. Everyone wanted the recipe. I'm not big on sweet stuff in general, but this dish was certainly the exception to the rule. I used a deep dish and lined the interior rim with mini marshmellows. Wonderful addition and a very pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Yes, it was good and everyone loved this at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very good! Was a bit dry but think I added too many sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by day_rog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Archbald, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I am not a sweet potato fan, but I liked this one. I baked the potatoes as suggested and they had a good texture to them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Absolutely delicious!!!! I read a lot of reviewers suggestions, and I decided not to add the white sugar to the sweet potatoes since they are so sweet naturally. I didn't want it to be too much like a dessert. I baked 3 large sweet potatoes in the oven for 2 hours, as other reviewers suggested, and they were very flavorful. I followed the recipe to the tee, and I thought it was great. I could have handled doubling the topping, but it didn't need it. The topping had a great caramelization, it was delicious!! I made mine the day before, and just added the topping before I baked it to save time in the kitchen on thanksgiving. This recipe is a keeper!! Next time I will probably sprinkle a little cinnamon and nutmeg on the top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Amazing! Used baked sweets and followed the recipe the rest of the way. So good it'll make you weep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,755) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States