Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
FANTASTIC! I made this for Thanksgiving one year and get requests for it all year round now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Listen, this casserole is an indulgent sweet. It's not a savory dish and if you don't like sweet potatoes or yams, don't go into it thinking you'll come out liking them on the other side. My grandmother had been making this recipe for years. I'm guessing from a Betty Crocker cook book. I really like it. But I upped the sweet potatoes casserole game and have never looked back. I stopped pretending this was a casserole and got real with myself. I threw the whole thing in a pie shell and baked it with double the topping. Best sweet potato pie ever. EVER. I up the ante with pumpkin pie spice and adding a bit more vanilla. We still serve it warm and it was an instant hit with the family. Every year this is part of our Thanksgiving tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Byers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
New family tradition to the Thankgiving table
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
This has been a staple at our family Thanksgiving dinners every year. It was such a hit the first time I made it that everyone asks me to make it each year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It is so delicious, I didn't need anything else
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Saunders

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Made this for the first time for Thanksgiving and it was a huge hit! Even people who don't normally eat sweet potatoes had gone up for seconds! I will for sure be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
toooooooo sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Made this for a football tailgate party. Everyone loved it! Will definitely make it again. Here's what I changed based on the suggestions of other All-Recipers: (1) Instead of boiling the potatoes (or using canned yams), I roasted the whole, fresh sweet potatoes for about 90 minutes at 350 then, when cooled, halved the potatoes and scooped out the flesh. (2) used evaporated milk. (3) doubled the vanilla (4) used my hand mixer to blend all ingredients till smooth. (5) Baked the dish longer than 30 mins - about 40 mins or so. Made the topping better. I made the dish the night before and took it out of the fridge about an hour before baking to bring the dish closer to room temp prior to baking. This recipe truly lives up to its name - YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Photogal119

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a sweet, sweet potato recipe, but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Delicious! Easy to make, peeled &boiled potatoes, then mashes, added cinnamon&nutmeg didnt have pecans, used walnuts, very delicious! Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,768) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States