Yummy Roll Ups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I've been making these for years and they always go like hotcakes! It's important to make sure your ham is very dry, and not sliced too thin - otherwise it will be difficult to spread the cream cheese. I use a jar of dill pickle spears, cut them in half and remove the seeds for more crispiness. I roll them tightly, then cut each roll into three equal pieces for bite-sized appetizers - and there is no need for a toothpick. The cream cheese keeps them from coming apart. A pound of boiled ham from the deli, 8 ounces of cream cheese, and a jar of pickle spears will make a nice sized plateful of appetizers for your next gathering (you may have a few pickle spears left over if you use 1/2 spear in each roll). If you've never had these you are in for a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I have made these for many years and they are always a HUGE hit, except much much better if you use green onions instead of pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
These are super yummy and definitely help you over reach your sodium load for the day. One way of making this even easier is to use whipped cream cheese - it spreads easier and use deli thin ham. Quick, easy and really are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I have made these for years. I also take and use Aspargus spears instead of pickle spears. I make a combination plate of both of these for carry in dinners and different parties. and always get rave reviews with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I have used okra instead of pickles and they are delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
We call this "Midwest Sushi"! Everyone in the family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
When I have made them I started with a whole pickle. Dry thoroughly with paper towel. Coat with cream cheese, then wrap in 2-3 thicknesses of the wafer thin, packaged meats, making sure it is entirely covered. Secure with tothpicks and chill until just before time to serve them. Slice about 1/2" thick, place on serving tray and enjoy. (I find that it makes a nice variety to use different flavors of the pressed meat (i.e.) ham, pastromi, beef, corned beef, etc.).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I make these...I have for years....only difference....I spread the cream cheese, then add swiss cheese...another thin layer of the cream cheese. I press the cut rolls into fresh chopped parsley, and serve with crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Yep, these are Frog Eyes all right! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This has always been a favorite in our house at holidays. We use whole Claussen dill pickles. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Granny Kat’s Pumpkin Roll

See how to make a sweetly spicy 5-star pumpkin roll cake.

Mini Ham and Cheese Roll Dinner

Hot little sandwiches and cool pasta salad pair perfectly.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States