Yummy Rainbow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
A family hit! So great! Use Cream Cheese Frosting, it adds a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeahawksBaking

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
I added a twist to make it taste more like bakery-type cakes--I subtracted two teaspoons of the water and added a teaspoon each of vanilla extract and almond extract. The kids asked for canned frosting which I used instead of whipped topping. They had fun frosting the cake together and covering the cake with M&M's. They cut into it right after lunch. What fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
If you are looking for a quick way to WOW some kids, this is perfect. Yes, it's a cake mix, but I made them into cupcakes, topped it with homemade butter cream, then added more sprinkles and kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
While my daughter and I had fun making these cupcakes. the jimmies didn't spread out like other recipers did. Maybe if we would have left the batter sit out a little bit and then put them in cupcake liners, maybe that would have made a difference. We also tried to use whip topping but it spread at room temperature. It wasn't pretty. So we just another frosting recipe from the site, that was neat to do, when I combined 3 colors my daughter picked out to use to swirl on top. She had a blast. That's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This is a great recipe! Great for parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ValKat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
We made cupcakes and used strawberry frosting and more sprinkles on top. This was very kid friendly and fun to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2003
This is a very pretty cake and it was a nice presentation for my daughter's birthday. Aside from looking nice, I don't think the candy-coated chocolate pieces worked with this recipe. And the white cake paired with the whipped topping was just not a flavorful enough. I think this recipe really needs a regular frosting to give it more taste. I love the idea of this cake though and will make it again using pink tinted vanilla frosting and more of the rainbow sprinkles on top instead of the candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2001
Try this it's the best.!!!!!!!!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States