Yummy Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Thanks so much for the idea! I didn't use salad dressing, but instead olive oil with garlic salt & chardonnay smoked sea salt. These tasted a lot like Ms Vicky's kettle chips only less hard... great way to use up something I always hated throwing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great idea! Have an old Cusinart with 2 inch chute opening for slicing/dicing and wanted a way to use trimmings from potatoes. Even strips with no peel came out tasty. Used olive oil and favorite spices sprinkled over once tatters were arranged in the pan. Baked until crispy on foil lined pan then coaxed them off the foil as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is really good recipe. I also substituted for Sweet Potato skins, olive oil, and sprinkled with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
I gave this recipe four stars simply for the creative idea. Instead of tossing them in salad dressing I used extra virgin olive oil and a pre-made spice mixture used for bread dipping. If you don't use oil, they won't come crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Update: Tried these again and used zesty Italian and sprinkled sea salt over them and they were actually pretty tasty! Served with ranch dressing. Thanks for the frugal recipe! Original review: No one in my family would eat these. I tried some and they were "ok". Not alot of flavor. Thanks for the "creative" idea, though. Just didn't work for us. ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
i tried this recipe for my 32th birthday, the guests liked it very much (thanks for that:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
These were ok but plain
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2005
THESE HAD A GREAT TASTE BUT STUCK TO THE PAN AND THEY WERENT ALL THAT CRISPY.I PROBABLY WILL TRY AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
After reading the other reviews I tried to enhance this recipe with zesty italian dressing and some parmesan cheese. I also sprayed the baking sheets with Pam to prevent sticking. Unfortunately, these potato skins still weren't that great. However, we felt very frugal eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yarie
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I actually completely changed this recipe. I think the idea was great but changed due to personal preference. I lightly coated with E.V. olive oil and seasoned with the following; Ground Cumin, Cayenne Pepper, Seasoned Salt and dried Thyme. Turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States