Yummy Potato Skins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Being that a lot of reviews stated that the skins didn't turn out crispy, I decided to spray them with evoo instead and then added several seasonings. With this change they were very crispy and really good. Fantastic source of potassium and they make a great and healthy snack. Thanks Kelly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Surprisingly, they were bland...even with loads of Zesty Italian poured over top..and dipped in ranch dressing with green onions afterwards. Nor were they very crispy. My end verdict? Not so yummy after all, I don't recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Thanks so much for the idea! I didn't use salad dressing, but instead olive oil with garlic salt & chardonnay smoked sea salt. These tasted a lot like Ms Vicky's kettle chips only less hard... great way to use up something I always hated throwing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
Update: Tried these again and used zesty Italian and sprinkled sea salt over them and they were actually pretty tasty! Served with ranch dressing. Thanks for the frugal recipe! Original review: No one in my family would eat these. I tried some and they were "ok". Not alot of flavor. Thanks for the "creative" idea, though. Just didn't work for us. ):
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by Yarie
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I actually completely changed this recipe. I think the idea was great but changed due to personal preference. I lightly coated with E.V. olive oil and seasoned with the following; Ground Cumin, Cayenne Pepper, Seasoned Salt and dried Thyme. Turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This is much blander than thought it would be with the Italian dressing. The recipes for baked skins crisp, then topped with cheese and bacon bits are a lot tastier. And don't forget the sour cream...can't be on a diet with this one tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
After reading the other reviews I tried to enhance this recipe with zesty italian dressing and some parmesan cheese. I also sprayed the baking sheets with Pam to prevent sticking. Unfortunately, these potato skins still weren't that great. However, we felt very frugal eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Sounds better than it is. Bland and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This is really good recipe. I also substituted for Sweet Potato skins, olive oil, and sprinkled with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Great idea! Have an old Cusinart with 2 inch chute opening for slicing/dicing and wanted a way to use trimmings from potatoes. Even strips with no peel came out tasty. Used olive oil and favorite spices sprinkled over once tatters were arranged in the pan. Baked until crispy on foil lined pan then coaxed them off the foil as it cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Potato Skins

See how to make crunchy, cheesy, just plain perfect potato skins.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States