Yummy Mango-Banana Milkshake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Loved this - got to use an over-ripe mango and banana! Might need to strain the mango fibers. I like other's ideas to freeze the fruit first - or add some ice cubes - will try these variations next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
I tweaked it a bit by using instead... mango nectar, evaporated milk and no sugar. It was super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I cut and froze my mango and banana the night before specifically for this smoothie. I used homemade frozen vanilla yogurt last night instead of ice cream and Truvia instead of sugar. Honestly, this had too much milk. I think it would have been much better had I cut the milk back by half, at least.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This drink is kind of odd. It is like a mix between a milkshake, a smoothie, and a cold milk drink. I subbed the mango for peaches, just because I prefer it. I am not sure what the cinnamon or nutmeg did? I thought it left a weird after taste. I also couldn't understand how the ice cream, which is the main ingredient in a milk shake, was optional? I added a little more banana to get some more fruit in it and used Truvia for the sugar. The drink was room temperature, so I added 6 ice cubes for half the recipe. I also added a tad of vanilla extract for a little extra flavor. Not a shake I would make again, as it was missing that fruit flavor I get from smoothies, but it was something different to attempt anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
YUMMO! I also added some ice cubes and a little bit extra sugar and it was definitely worth it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
loved this, i used yogurt instead of ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Hubs loves his breakfast drinks on weekends. Whether you call them smoothies or milkshakes, whether they have yogurt or they don’t, no matter what fruit is added to them, he loves ‘em. Me? I really could take ‘em or leave ‘em, as I’ve never tasted one good enough to warrant all the calories and sugar, even if that sugar is just from the fruit. Besides, after making them awhile, one began to taste pretty much the same as another anyway. Not this time. While I had plenty of berries on hand, both fresh and frozen, I was determined to find something different to try, and this was it. Frozen mango came in handy, and because of that and the fact there was already quite a lot of milk in the drink, I chose not to add the optional ice cream. I added the cinnamon but didn’t want to push it and take a chance with the nutmeg, so I left it out. I handed this creamy, frothy milkshake to Hubs, then tried a little myself and thought, wow, this is awesome good! Uniquely different and 5-stars for sure! And even tho’ I didn’t expect Hubs would agree, he did! So what was so different about this? It wasn’t thick and gloppy, it was refreshingly light. It wasn’t overly condensed with flavor, again refreshing. It didn’t have the sour tang of yogurt. Most of all, it wasn’t your same old tired, berry smoothie. If I had any criticism at all, it would be that I might have liked a little more mango, but that would just be overly picky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
It's pretty good and healthy. And i hope Everybody in my class would like it ( It is a project :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I added a scoop of vanilla protein powder. You can't taste it, and it was a great after workout drink. Not too heavy. I would have liked to taste the mango more, but the mango I used wasn't the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SamsGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This is just like its name...YUMMY!! :D I loved it and...I did use one whole mango (coz the it was a small mango) and 2 bananas (these were the small variety...alot more flavorful and very different from the normal bananas)....the only thing I skipped was sugar but that's coz I used a scoop of vanilla ice cream...this filled up 3 tall glasses....thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Fruit Milkshake

See how easy it is to whip up a fresh-fruit milkshake in your blender.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

Apple Honey Shake

Find out how to make a refreshing blended juice drink.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States