Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I've made this maybe 4 or 5 times so far and everyone loves it. Especially my mom. She loves to have something sweet in the mornings with her cup of coffee and every since I made this she is always asking me to make another one for her. I couldn't wait to see what the combination of lemon and coconut flavors would be like and I was not disappointed at all. Simple recipe and quick to make.I'll surprise her over the holidays and make a couple for her and my aunt to have in the early morning hours of the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday. Also I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
There were several good things about this recipe. The bread was very lemony (I used the zest of two lemons in the bread)and moist-but a bit too dense. I baked it in an 8" round pan because I knew I would love the glaze (which I made thicker and increased the quantity)and I wanted more surface room for it. In my opinion the glaze makes the bread. The coconut was barely discernible in flavor-some didn't realize it was there- but does change the texture. If anyone has an issue with this (or any other quick bread or cake) being DRY I suggest to check what kind of milk was used. Skim milk is much more likely to produce a dry, crumbly product. Milks with fat in them really improve the flavor and texture of baked goods. So little of the product is used that it doesn't make a huge difference in fat content. Also- as always...use fresh lemon juice because bottled lemon juice has mellowed way to much to have any great flavor. With all baking-the end results will only be as good as the ingredients used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is so delicious! Made it without the glaze and tasted great. My teen-aged daughter said it tasted like lemon loaf cake from Starbucks and the coconut put it over the edge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I didn't make any changes and followed the instructions word by word and the loaf turned out to be very good. I didn't make the drizzle, the loaf itself was definitely sweet enoughI suggest tasting the loaf first before you make the drizzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElfS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is so good. My Mom who is not so easy to please when it comes to food said "This is the best cake I ever made" and I do bake quite a bit. Did not change a thing. From one Pennsylvania cook to another, thanks for the great recipe Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
GLUTEN FREE VERSION: I made this GF. I followed the ingredients substituting only GF all purpose flour (using white rice, potato starch and tapioca starch with 1/2 tsp xanthan gum). I had to use almost three times the lemon juice for the glaze though. I did change the directions to adapt to GF flours. I allowed the flours and liquids to sit for 10 minutes (stirring occasionally) then added the baking powder, mixed well and then put it in the oven. This soaking time helps the rice flours and starches to soften a bit to lend to a smoother texture. In fact it wasn't grainy at all. As you can see in the photo I made it in a 9" round cake pan so it baked for only 30 minutes. I didn't have the right size loaf pan. It worked wonderfully. Great taste of the lemon with the coconut. My daughter, who isn't gluten intolerant, loved it so much ate almost all of it asking me to make it again "exactly like this don't change a thing!". There's a great rating for you! Keep in the fridge for a longer lasting storage. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was good but I think I may have over mixed it because the way that it peaked after baking so maybe it will work out better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Loved this recipe! Had some extra coconut and wanted to bake something and this 'took the cake.' Will put this into my 'special recipes' folder for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very yummy! Used almond milk instead since that's what I had and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Lemon and coconut are a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States