Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Great, moist cake with delicate lemon flavor. To please everyone I served this to I omitted the coconut. Also, because sizes of lemons vary, I hope it's helpful to note I used 1-1/2 tablespoons each of lemon juice and zest and was quite happy with that. Oven temperatures and darkness/lightness of pans (which can affect baking time) vary too, so I'd recommend checking this at 50-55 minutes - mine was done in about 52 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
OMG, this is so good! I made it exactly as written and wouldn’t make any adjustments. The only downside of this delicious lemon coconut loaf is that it won’t last very long in this house, in fact it's almost gone and I just sliced into it. Thanks for sharing Christina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I used solid coconut oil instead of butter (just beat sugar with it as you do with butter.) The result was great, the coconut oil flavor wasn't strong so you won't really taste it, it was just as delicious and healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Very good! Changes I made based upon my pantry: 3 T bottled lemon juice to replace fresh lemon in the batter (measurements for drizzle were fine), and unsweetened fine macaroon coconut instead of flaked. The result? A rich tasting, buttery pound cake. The balance of lemon, butter and coconut was wonderful. This was very easy to make and will be part of my 'go to' recipes for quick, tasty evening meal desserts whose leftovers pair well with morning coffee. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie King-Bolin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
There were several good things about this recipe. The bread was very lemony (I used the zest of two lemons in the bread)and moist-but a bit too dense. I baked it in an 8" round pan because I knew I would love the glaze (which I made thicker and increased the quantity)and I wanted more surface room for it. In my opinion the glaze makes the bread. The coconut was barely discernible in flavor-some didn't realize it was there- but does change the texture. If anyone has an issue with this (or any other quick bread or cake) being DRY I suggest to check what kind of milk was used. Skim milk is much more likely to produce a dry, crumbly product. Milks with fat in them really improve the flavor and texture of baked goods. So little of the product is used that it doesn't make a huge difference in fat content. Also- as always...use fresh lemon juice because bottled lemon juice has mellowed way to much to have any great flavor. With all baking-the end results will only be as good as the ingredients used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
As soon as I read this recipe I knew I had to stop everything and go directly to my kitchen to bake it! Just finishing off my second delicious, scrumptious slice! I used quite a bit of the lemon zest to make it even more lemony! Quick and delicious! Good way to end a hot, Texas evening: ice tea and lemon cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D'vyne Confections
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Lemon goodness! My first time making lemon loaf...this was a great recipe. Just a few suggestions: Use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan to prevent the loaf from sticking (mine got stuck and the bottom didn't look so pretty when I got it out). Microwave your lemons (about 30 seconds)...you'll get way more juice out of them! Also I could do without the coconut. Didn't really do much for the loaf. Other than that...love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I use this recipe all the time. Its quick and easy and everyone loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Innisfil, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Made as is and my family loved it! I had baked these twice in a week. One for us and the other were for my Aunts visiting from England. I really liked the sweet and tart balance it brings. The amount of coconut is perfect for the non-coconut lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was delishious! The only thing I did different was to add shredded coconut while the glaze was still soft. I will be making this again tomorrow because the one I made today is already gone!! Pure lemon heaven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Sweet Potato and Coconut Bread

Sweet and dense bread that's more like dessert and uses leftover sweet potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States