Yummy Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
It was a good recipe. I omitted the nuts since I prefer my lemon loaf nut free. I also added more zest and 2Tbs of lemon juice to the batter for stronger flavor. I also made more glaze. However I think next time I need to add a pinch of salt to really enhance the flavor of the zest and the sweetness of the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I made this with changes. I increased the servings to 16 so that it uses a half cup of butter. I used almonds instead of walnuts and substituted the milk with half lemon juice half sour cream. I baked it in a 9x13 pan for 28 minutes. I wish that I had increased the recipe by an additional third as it looks pretty thin in the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Very tasty! Super easy to make too. Mine was good to go after only 50 minutes, 45 may have possibly even been sufficient. Definitely be careful not to overcook it! I have made this using zest and also extract when I ran out of lemons but wanted my "fix" anyway! Also left out nuts as we do not like them in baked goods. The only other change I made was NOT poking holes in the cake, and adding more confectioners sugar to the lemon juice for the glaze so that it was a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Me and my Mom made this today, but we made a few changes. We didn't use any lemon zest in the mixture, and we took out the nuts also. And we made a glaze with the confectioners' sugar and lemon juice instead of letting it soak into the bread. We used about 3/4 cup of confectioners' sugar, a couple spoons of water, and just 1 tbsp of lemon juice and poured this mixture over the bread. It was delicious and we will definitely be making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Had extra lemons that I needed to use and found this recipe. Served it to a group of friends and they were soon fighting over the last piece. The glaze really makes the overall product. The bread does rise in the center so make sure to let the bread cool down sufficiently before applying glaze or else it will all run to edges. I was in a rush so didn't have time to do this but it tasted great fresh out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I was a little disappointed with how dry it was. I guess I should have made a "Cake" instead of a "bread". Not too lemony either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Like other reviews said, it's more of a cake than a bread. I had added 1/2 tsp. of salt and mixed the baking powder with the flour instead of the liquid ingredients. Next time, I will use the zest and juice of two lemons instead of just one since we like a really strong lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHISCH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Be sure not to overcook this. It will turn out dry. I added a little lemon extract to the batter as I wanted lemon flavor to more than just the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Given that I love lemon, I really wanted to like this bread. It ended up tasting fine--not five-star delicious, but good. However, it really came out as more of a cake. It barely rose at all in the oven, and the loaf really only ended up about two inches thick. I followed the recipe exactly, except for omitting the nuts and sweetening the lemon juice more at the last step. Maybe next time I'll make a double batch and make it a 9x13 cake. But as a loaf of bread, this just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States