Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is an excellent recipe, and lives up to all the reviews. A few things to remember. 1. Double the sauce, or you won't have enough. 2. If you're going to baste with the sauce, do it in the last minutes of of grilling. 3. Marinating the chicken and veggies is a MUST, and the longer the better. I put the chicken and veggies in separate zip-lock bags, and left them for about 8 hours. Every time I went to the fridge I turned the bags over. 4. If you're using wooden skewers, don't forget to soak them in water for a few hours, or they'll burn...I hate it when that happens. 5. If you lower your grill temperature a bit, you'll be able to put the veggies and chicken on the same skewers and they'll come out cooked to perfection. Place your hand about 2 inches over the heated grill surface. If you can hold your hand there for three seconds, then you've got the right grill temperature. If you have to take your hand away sooner, it's too hot. Oh, and you've got to add some pineapple chunks. Keep the faith and keep cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2580 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
This was really good. The only thing that I did differently was to put all the chicken together on skewers and the veggies together on skewers. This way, if the veggies got done first they didn't burn while waiting for the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
740 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Have tried this recipe 3 - 4 times over the past year with different cuts of chicken, etc. The absolute best way is to buy chicken thighs (bone in) and marinate for a minimum of 24 - 30 hours. I make batches of them and put 10-12 pieces in the fridge at a time. My family uses them as "grab and go's". Wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
544 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
5+++! These kabobs were SO tender & flavorful. I marinated them all day using low-salt soy sauce, canola oil, the honey, black pepper, & fresh minced garlic. Added just a touch of cayenne pepper to the marinade and it was great! Doubled the marinade as I did not want my veggies marinating in the same mixture as the chicken. To grill, on one skewer, used red & orange bell peppers, and a red onion, as that is what I had on hand and these required different cooking times than the meat and other veggies used. On another skewer, did zucchini, grape & cherry tomatoes from our garden. And on another, used pineapple chunks. Thank you, Ann Marie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
This is a very tasty and versatile recipe! I haven't had any trouble with lack of flavor; in fact, the other night I made this last minute and it only marinated about 30 minutes and was still delicious. The kabobs are great, but one of my favorite ways to use this is as a sandwich: leave the chicken breasts intact, or cut in half to fit a hamburger bun. Otherwise, follow the recipe for marinating the chicken (I did put the garlic and onion in the marinade for flavor). Serve on a bun (I prefer whole wheat) with swiss cheese melted on top, honey mustard, and toppings of your choice (lettuce, tomato, onion, etc). Yum! If you make extra chicken, try the leftovers sliced on a salad for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I used this mix with a stir fry! It was wonderful on top of chicken fried rice! I placed the chicken strips in a bowl with the marinade and then place the whole thing in a wok and let it cook together, then drained 3/4 of the marinade and cooked for 5 minutes and served on top of rice, AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
We had a BBQ for July 4th and decided to serve these for something a little different. They were a hit!! People are still talking about them 2 months later. We marinated shrimp in addition to the chicken and added pineapple to the skewers. They were fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
These were fabulous! We only had time to marinate the chicken for two hours, but that was plenty of time, as they gained plenty of flavor. We also grilled the kabobs on a little skewer rack that kept them from directly touching the grill. It took a little longer to cook this way (just over 15 minutes), but it also kept them from sticking. We used onion, cherry tomatoes, and mushrooms, and these were the best skewers we've ever made on our grill! We'll definitely have them again - the marinade just makes the dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2002
I added extra garlic and a tsp of ginger and marinated for three hours. I think they needed longer time in the marinade for more flavor. Next time I will try overnight. They were delicious, and will make often this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2002
This recipe was just fantastic! I didn't have soy sauce so I used Yoshida's marinade instead and the results were just awesome. A slightly sweet, teriyaki flavored marinade. Even my 3 year old ate the chicken. My husband who is the pickiest human alive absolutely loved it. Thanks for a great summer recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBACUB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochelle Park, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,613) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Chicken Kabobs

See how to grill sweet and savory chicken and veggie kabobs.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States