Yummy Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
This was great! Makes 6 servings??? Maybe if you're eating them as a snack, but it goes a LONG ways as salad croutons. I found it easier to make 1/2 batch at a time, and to first put the bread cubes in a large bowl and pour the oil (I substituted 1/4 cup olive oil & 1/4 cup melted margarine) over the cubes and then add the seasoning and mix well, before placing them on the baking pan. Will definately add this to my list of favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
These are great. I used Olive Oil and parmesan cheese and my husband and I ate them like there was no tomorrow. I have also added a tablespoon of butter to the olive oil, added the basil and chopped garlic and simmered on low heat for about 10 minutes to really get the flavors infused. We loved it! We will never buy store croutons again unless we absolutely have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clio, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lawton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Yummy is definitely the word to describe these! I'll NEVER ever go back to store bought again! I had a loaf of Italian bread that was going stale and this recipe was perfect for it. I used EVOO instead of veg. oil and tossed them instead of just drizzling the mixture over top. I baked them at 375 instead of 400 and watched them carefully so they didn't burn. I turned them during cooking. So good, I made a second batch and experimented with using a packet of Good Seasons Italian Salad dressing mix plus some minced garlic along with the olive oil. I think you can mix up just about any combination of herbs, spices, and add in some grated cheese and it'll turn out great! A perfect add-in to salads, soups, casseroles - whatever you can think of...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Yummy croutons for snacking, for salads and for recipes that call for bread crumb toppings. Just pulse in the food processor and you have instant seasoned bread crumb. I put all the ingredients in a plastic bag and shake. Substitute half garlic-flavored olive oil and half melted butter for the vegetable oil.Thanks Laura.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
I used olive oil and regular white bread. I also baked at a lower temperature, as I've heard these can burn easily. Quite tasty and I plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
I used melted butter instead of vegetable oil and used thinly sliced baguettes instead to make little toasts for a spinach and artichoke dip. I didn't measure the garlic powder and basil but rather just sprinkled a little bit over each piece. I also sprinkled a bit of paprika on the center of each piece, which looked BEAUTIFUL!! These MADE the dip, as it was a bit plain with regular bread. I will definitley make these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
WOW! While waiting on my husband and son to come home, my daughter and I made these and they are GREAT! We are eating them like candy....next time I am going to try a little parmesan cheese! I will never buy croutons in the store again...they are way too expensive and this is a wonderful way to use leftover bread....no waste! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I just made these this morning, and they are wonderful. I did substitute olive oil for the veggie oil though... they turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
Really good. I sprinkle with parmesan cheese also. They never make it to the salad because everyone snacks on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Very tasty. I made these to go with a spinach salad and they definitely elevated the taste of the salad. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States