Yummy Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Decent basic recipe. I used two-day-old homemade french bread. Instead of drizzling and sprinkling, I put the oil and herbs in a gallon-size zip-top bag and shook the bread crumbs until they were decently coated. I will add salt next time and use less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These were very yummy, but I was uncomfortable using that much olive oil. I did it, but I would use less next time, just to cut the calories. Toasted seasoned bread cubes don't really require a ton of oil or butter on them to make them delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
these are the best! awesome recipe, and so easy,we have been eating them by the handfuls and can't quit. I will make these again and again!! I have tried to make them without a recipe and always baked them way too long at to low a temperture and they always were too hard to eat, but these are just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usapeach58

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutledge, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
Very good. I mixed the garlic powder and basil in with the vegetable oil. I also added a little bit of butter to the mixture. I drizzled the whole thing over the top of the bread cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Why buy croutons when you can make this easy delicious recipe? I will never buy croutons again!! These are fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
5 Stars simply for being a great recipe I needed in a pinch. I followed it exactly. I won't be wasting anymore stale bread. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by cookiegirl30
Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Great flavor and crunch for salad - also good as a topper for tomato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
I didn't have french bread, but I did have a couple thick slices of leftover bread, so I used those instead. I mixed the oil by hand in the bowl, then added the seasonings and mixed again. Worked perfectly, and the baking times were perfect too. Thanks for the recipe--very easy and a good way to use up bread I otherwise probably would've wasted. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Very good crouton recipe. I used italian rolls which I first froze to make it easier to cut. With the addition of onion powder and a little salt this is a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This one is perfect for the caesar salad supreme... The taste of the croutons added more flavor the salad. some changes that I made are: half/half extra virgin olive oil/butter...added Italian seasoning instead of basil...and extended cooking hours to 25 mins but with constant checking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sansu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States