Yummy Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and used half of a italian baguette I bought the day before off the discount bread rack at my local store. This was very easy to make and added a little something to our dinner's salad. This is a nice base recipe to take and run with by adding whichever spices you'd like to your oil before brushing it onto the bread. This would also make a good base for homemade breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Yummy!!! I used garlic salt instead of powder and mixed the bread cubes in a bowl with the oil and spices. Cooked at 350 degrees for 15 mins shaking halfway through. Made these for a Caesar Salad to go with Pasta De Sardine (also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Yummy is definitely the word to describe these! I'll NEVER ever go back to store bought again! I had a loaf of Italian bread that was going stale and this recipe was perfect for it. I used EVOO instead of veg. oil and tossed them instead of just drizzling the mixture over top. I baked them at 375 instead of 400 and watched them carefully so they didn't burn. I turned them during cooking. So good, I made a second batch and experimented with using a packet of Good Seasons Italian Salad dressing mix plus some minced garlic along with the olive oil. I think you can mix up just about any combination of herbs, spices, and add in some grated cheese and it'll turn out great! A perfect add-in to salads, soups, casseroles - whatever you can think of...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Used sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
delicious... I drizzled olive oil and salt when they were ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These croutons were phenominal. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and they were good but needed something. The second time I had the same amount of garlic, half the basil and I added 1 Tbsp of dried parsely, 1/4 tsp ground black pepper, and 1/2 tsp paprika. I also used melted butter, which another viewer suggested, and it turned out great. These changes made it even better. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I've made all kinds of croutons by mixing things up slightly - all turning out great. I've added a bit of Mrs. Dash's Garlic and Herb seasoning which was wonderful. Have also sliced my bread really thinly to make almost a chip type of crouton. To really make them good and fattening, I've added tiny pieces of bacon to my oil/herb/bread mixture. Tastes great on a salad! Thanks for the recipe! I've actually got some bread to use for croutons tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Used kaiser rolls and baked at 350 for 15 minutes. I have died and gone to crouton heaven. ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I had leftover traditional white bread that I made from AR & used that. It was simple & tasty but they were missing salt & I am not a salt person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great!! These were so easy! I used olive oil and sweet basil. Because I drizzled, I probably ended up using a cup instead of a 1/2. Next time I'll mix it all in a large bowl first, then put on baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Sautéed Garlic Asparagus

This simple method really highlights the flavor of the asparagus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States