Yummy Eggnog Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
very yummy indeed! I made this for Christmas Eve and it was a big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This was a huge hit! I took others' advice and froze them overnight, helped with the travel time to work too. Also used a pre-made graham cracker crust(toasted per package instructions). It was a bit sweet, but hey, it's the holidays! Also used the tub cool whip because I didn't buy enough heavy cream. That might be why it was so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newtown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: West Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Outstanding! My husband and kids love it. I cut the cream in half and added 2 tbl of rum and 1 tsp of vanilla. The consistency was perfect, like a banana cream pie. I could eat the whole thing myself! I plan to make this again for an upcoming family Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
very creamy and light. people really loved it. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
Oh, my, this is rich, but I knew it would be. :) I followed the recipe pretty closely. I forgot to add the rum extract before chilling the pudding (which was so thick that stirring it was tough) so I added it before beating the pudding later on. Oh, and I only used 1½ cups heavy cream and I beat it to just shy of stiff peaks (I wanted to be sure it would hold its shape in the crust!). I needed to add a little of the semi-stiff cream to the pudding when beating it. I used a pie crust made from crushed 'almond snap' cookies and butter (baked at 350 for 8 minutes, cooled before filling!), the subtle almond flavor complimented the egg nog nicely. I forgot the extra nutmeg on top, but that was quite fine too. One more thing: I made it around 9 pm Christmas Eve, covered it and stuck it in the fridge overnight, and we ate dessert maybe 6 pm Christmas Day. It held its shape beautifully and was a cinch to cut. Thanks, Rodney. We're all egg nog addicts and this was a nice way to include it in our Christmas dinner dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
This was pretty good. I used a graham cracker crumb pie crust and liked it for the contrasting crunchiness since this pie is so creamy. I think I will try halving the recipe and spooning it into mini phyllo tart shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Yummy is correct. I made this for a christmas pie. I followed the recipe exactly and it set perfectly. When cooking the pudding I cooked until it was very thick. I let it cool completly in the refrig. When it was time to beat/mix the cooled pudding it was to thick so I had to beat it with some of the whipped cream first. When it was beat then I folded in the rest of the whipped cream. It set nicely. Next time I think I will try it with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This was a huge hit at Christmas dessert. I made 2 - one for Christmas Eve, and one for Christmas. My sister ate the entire one on Christmas Eve! I'll definately make this again - don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I cooked the pudding until very thick & I had no problems w/ this setting up. I didn't even need to freeze it. It had great flavor, was extremely easy & will be repeated next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very good, but does require a lot of cream. Also, the slices didn't hold the form since it was pudding-like, but overall a great holiday recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States