Yummy Eggnog Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This pie was so delicious. I made it for a family Christmas party and everyone raved over it. The pie wasn't liquid but I would have liked it a bit more set but I think the reason it did not set up so well was because the box of cook and serve pudding I got was 3oz and that was Jello brand. I don't know if another brand makes the right size box but missing 1.6 ounces of the thickening agent could be the reason so many people on here haven't had a real firm pie. I would definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was awesome! Made enough for two pies. The hardest part is whipping the cream, but that is an awesome activity, made easier with chilled metal bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
I started making this pie 15 years ago, out of a wild idea, (Shamrock foods was the first contest i entered it in) i use instant pudding, and sub eggnog for the milk, and add 2 packets of dream whip with pudding and whip, then fold in fresh whip cream at the end, It is so much better if you use fresh nutmeg from the nut itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This turned out very well for the Xmas holidays. what I did was use it as a filling for the Kuchen shell by SHER15, I added more fresh ground nutmeg,3 cap fulls of spiced dark rum, and cooled the mixture in the freezer for an hour. then proceeded with step 2, but the key thing is after folding in the whipped cream (used heavy cream) put it in the shell and wait a night before serving, the flavours will blend nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is for eggnog lovers only! We love eggnog, so naturally we loved this pie. It had such an intense egg nog flavor that I think next time I may substitute a bit of the eggnog for whole milk. Mine set up very well, just following the directions. Be sure to use cook and serve pudding and not instant and cook til it is very thick. I used Cool Whip instead of heavy cream and it turned out great. I had to beat the coolwhip and chilled pudding mixture together to get it the right consistency and no lumps. I used a graham cracker crust. A great pie for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Delicious!!! Super easy. Cook the pudding until very thick. I made the recipe verbatim first and it was great. Second time I used cool whip instead of homemade whipped cream and it turned out just fine. I also tripled the rum, I couldn't taste it at all the first time. Serve frozen - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This pie has become a requested tradition at our holiday feasts. I'd be disappointing everyone if I didn't make it as often as possible while eggnog is available. I absolutely love this recipe - Thanks, Rodney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chaska, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Delicious! Made it without the rum and my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Super rich! It was good but it was the only thing that didn't get finished for Christmas dinner. I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nikolina
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I agree with all the other reviews. Great taste, awkward conistency. I made it twice, second time was better when I cooked pudding until VERY thick and bubbly. Then I really beat the cream A LOT and I thawed it in the freezer. Also, I couldn't find heavy cream, so I substituted 1 1/2 cups whipping dream, worked great. Not sure I'll make this again anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Vratsa, Vratsa, Bulgaria

Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States