Yummy Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
This is a delicious spring salad for picnics and cook outs. I have made it several times and like it best with creamy cucumber dressing. I agree that half a red onion is enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I LOVE this! The textures and flavors combine to make the perfect salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurdBird

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
This was great! Definitely a bar-b-que favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
We all thought this recipe lived up to its title. I used 1/2c. of homemade ranch (Ranch Dressing II from this site) mixed with the yogurt and cumin. For the couscous, I used a whole wheat variety and subbed vegetable stock for the water. Oh, I also added some dried cranberries because I didn't have enough raisins. The only minor complaint I had was that there was too much red onion, but I'd used a fairly large one, so I have to take some of the blame for that. Next time around, I'd only use half an onion or a small one. Anyway, it's a really great salad... Thanks for a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Fantastic salad. Like other reviewers, I felt there is too much red onion. But the problem may be that if the amount of servings is reduced, the amount of onion - 1 red onion - stays the same. For 2 people, 1/4 of a red onion at most. But it's a delicious salad, easy to make, very flexible in terms of ingredients - I've added cucumber, chicken, sweetcorn etc, at various times, and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This was good. I did cut the fat by not using butter or yogurt, only used 1/2 cup fat free dressing. Will make the same changes aging next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
potluck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs O

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Here is the key to this. The original has been changed but it was somewhat correct. Make the Couscous as directed (typically 5-6 minutes) but then let it cool (after fluffing it) then add it to the mixture that way the heat does not turn the sauce bad. One you do that you really can simply use this as a guide line. I personally added curry powder and a bunch of other stuff and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This was great. I made the changes suggested like chopped dates instead. I did put some cumin and curry for taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mbaroni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Definitely yummy! As you can tell from the other reviews, there are endless possibilities for variation, and they're all good! -- I added edamame, roasted red pepper, and cubes of cheddar. The leftover dressing was delicious on salad. The other reviewers are right -- just cook the couscous in the normal way, and it should only take ~5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States