Yummy Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I gave it a five star rating as long as you make some adjustments - particularly, use 1 cup couscous and 2 cups water - you only need to let the couscous stand for 5-6 minutes - not 30. I also cut back the onion to 1/2 a small one. I also used dates instead of raisins, which I highly recommend doing. I also used the couscous with the pine nuts and used some slivered almonds I had. I added some cucumber as well and used almost one whole can of chick peas. I used buttermilk ranch dressing - the same amount called for in the recipe. I realized at the last minute I didn't have any yogurt, so I just added more ranch and it was still very good, but I'm sure it would be even better with the yogurt. Great recipe though, and you can really do alot of variations with it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This was a really yummy recipe. I used FF ranch dressing and FF yogurt. I also used whole wheat couscous from Trader Joe's and cooked it without the butter. Everyone at dinner loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I served this as a warm side dish instead of as a salad. I replaced the red onions with carmalized videlias, and lightly sauteed the red peppers. I also omitted the cumin. It was fantastic. I had it cold the next day for lunch--this will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2000
We go on frequent picnics here in Sydney Australia with the same group of friends and they each take a salad, usually the same salad each time. I tried this new recipe and everyone commented on how tasty it was. The salad was extremely simple to make. An absolute must for the next BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This was a really tasty recipe. It definitely needs to be completely chilled so make ahead. I used fat free ranch dressing and it tasted great. It is a complete side salad with both grains and veggies-very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Quite delicious! Variations: I used sundried tomato couscous, 1/2 c. firm tofu, pine nuts instead of almonds, and finely chopped spinach in lieu of parsley. Seems like a bizarre combination with the medley of ingredients, but it does work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Thanks for this recipe! I have made it twice- the first time I only added 1/2 an onion and found it quite strong in the salad if you eat it by itself, but OK with other salads, BBQ meat etc. The second time I left out the onion and it was better (I don't really like onion, though, so that's why I liked it more without). Also I made it with 3/4 cup of Garlic and Pepper savoury yoghurt (Brownes brand, available here in Australia) instead of combining salad dressing and plain yoghurt and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2001
This salad tasted great! I used only half a red pepper and half the onion and it was still a fabulous salad. I also reduced the fat a bit by using light mayo and yogurt. Try it, you'll love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
Couscous is always quick so it's great when we're pressed for time. I was thrilled to find this delicious recipe which I've already used about 4 times. All our family and friends love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2001
Great! Great! Yummy indeed. Although I must say that it's not quite as quick as others have mentioned. I guess I'm a slow chopper. I'll make it again. Absolutely lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States