Yummy Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
This is a great recipe! I omitted the onion and substituted the red bell pepper with a yellow one, along with golden raisins. For the salad dressing I used a creamy 3-cheese Ranch, and I added more cumin for taste. It came out delicious-o! I plan to double the recipe and take to a BBQ this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Very nice. I wasn't sure what was meant by creamy salad dressing, so i followed some of the other reviewers and used 1/3 c ranch dressing and 1/3 c yogurt for dressing and yogurt. Very nice flavor, great with grilled chicken and a salad. Update: I have tried this a couple different ways, and I recommend cutting way back on the onion. Also, I found that the texture was not nearly as good when I used whole wheat couscous, so I don't recommend that. Refer to other reveiwers regarding cooking time -- they are right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Upon making this salad I thought it was an unusual combination of ingredients but, I was looking for something a little different for a barbeque. It is simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This was a good salad. I am not a big cilantro fan, so next time I will leave it out, or sub another herb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylett, Virginia, USA
Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
Quite delicious! Variations: I used sundried tomato couscous, 1/2 c. firm tofu, pine nuts instead of almonds, and finely chopped spinach in lieu of parsley. Seems like a bizarre combination with the medley of ingredients, but it does work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2003
I served this as a warm side dish instead of as a salad. I replaced the red onions with carmalized videlias, and lightly sauteed the red peppers. I also omitted the cumin. It was fantastic. I had it cold the next day for lunch--this will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
Would not make again. Threw away most of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Thanks for this recipe! I have made it twice- the first time I only added 1/2 an onion and found it quite strong in the salad if you eat it by itself, but OK with other salads, BBQ meat etc. The second time I left out the onion and it was better (I don't really like onion, though, so that's why I liked it more without). Also I made it with 3/4 cup of Garlic and Pepper savoury yoghurt (Brownes brand, available here in Australia) instead of combining salad dressing and plain yoghurt and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
This was a really yummy recipe. I used FF ranch dressing and FF yogurt. I also used whole wheat couscous from Trader Joe's and cooked it without the butter. Everyone at dinner loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I had to improvise a little on this recipe because I ran out of mayo in the process of preparation. I had to add about 1/8 cup fat free sour cream, and I used fat free yogurt and mayo too. I also forgot the onion, but the salad still turned out great. I will make this again. Next time with all the right ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States