Yummy Couscous Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Always looking for new ways to use coucous and this dish takes the prize. Great flavor and easy to toss up in a flash. Do try!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
easy and refreshing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
edible but not probably will not make again. Stuffed it in pita bread which made it more tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This has become a summertime standard in our house. I sometimes make it every week and keep in the fridge. I love the yummy cumin yogurt dressing. And don't be afraid of the raisins and almonds - i don't usually go for raisins, but they were perfect in this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Everywhere I take this dish to - I always get someone wanting the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Was such an excellent recipe, one that I will keep in rotation forever. Used pine nuts instead, then garnished with sliced almonds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
Yummy is right! Just be sure to go easy on the onion. Green pepper works fine too. This would be great on a picnic. Everyone loved it at the office party. FOOL PROOF RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Very good, with the modifications mentioned below. I don't like ranch dressing, so I used Safeway Select's Goat Cheese and Sundried Tomato Dressing. Like others, I found the directions for cooking the couscous to be strange. 1 c. couscous and 1 1/4 c. water will do the trick, letting it covered off the heat for 5-6 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I gave it a five star rating as long as you make some adjustments - particularly, use 1 cup couscous and 2 cups water - you only need to let the couscous stand for 5-6 minutes - not 30. I also cut back the onion to 1/2 a small one. I also used dates instead of raisins, which I highly recommend doing. I also used the couscous with the pine nuts and used some slivered almonds I had. I added some cucumber as well and used almost one whole can of chick peas. I used buttermilk ranch dressing - the same amount called for in the recipe. I realized at the last minute I didn't have any yogurt, so I just added more ranch and it was still very good, but I'm sure it would be even better with the yogurt. Great recipe though, and you can really do alot of variations with it. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3BadBoxers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Centreville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 stars. All the right ingredients are there, but I found the proportions to be a bit off. So, here are the modifications that I made (which I think made it a 5-star salad): used 1/2 a red onion instead of a full onion, doubled the amount of couscous (but used the same amount of dressing!), used a full can of drained chickpeas, and substituted chopped dates for the raisins. The other confusing thing about this recipe is that it says the couscous will cook for 30 minutes! Unless there's some crazy slow-cook couscous out there, I'd say 5-6 minutes, tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Bean and Couscous Salad

See how to make a Southwest-style couscous salad with a tangy vinaigrette.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States