Yummy Cheese Ball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
I must preface this review by saying that my mother-in-law always asks me to bring a lettuce salad to family dinners because I assume that she thinks it's the only thing I can make,which by the way, is simply not true. So after trying this recipe at a bridal shower, I called her up and told her that this is what I was bringing to Christmas. She reluctantly agreed. When we arrived for Christmas dinner I saw that my mother-in-law had made a cheeseball her self and had it sitting out on the table. UUUGGGHHH! I refused to give up, so I sat my cheeseball right down next to her's. By the end of the night everyone was raving about MY cheeseball and had scraped the plate clean. Her cheeseball, however, only had a couple of bites taken out of it. She ended up wrapping her's up and putting it back in the fridge!! HA HA!! Victory is mine!!! Thank you so much for this wonderful recipe and the small gratification I got from making it. I added a little garlic powder and onion powder and I usually use about 4 green onions. This is the best cheeseball ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHYB_1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Frankfort, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Kelli - thanks for a wonderful recipe. This went over very big at my dinner party last night. I did make a few twists on it to make it my own. Very finely chopped scallions and fresh chives. I also added in about 1/2 cup of shredded mild cheddar cheese and I put my pecans in my food processor to make them smaller. When I rolled my perfectly round cheese ball in the crushed pecans it really looked fabulous. I topped the ball with remaining scallions. Oh good tip for any of you that have G. Foreman Grills - cooks your bacon in half the time and drains off alot of the fat & grease. To crumble your bacon nicely, break it up and put it in a zip lock bag and crush up with a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Rochelle, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This has been very popular at a couple of my parties. I enjoyed it but found the cheese ball to be slightly greasy due to the amount of bacon used (its definitely not a healthy party snack). I made a couple changes: I added 1 tsp. garlic powder and 1 tsp. onion powder. I served the cheese ball with crackers. I plan on making this for any more parties I have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I made this twice, once for Thanksgiving and then again the next day. The only thing I did different and was more green onions and bacon. Both are my weakness. This was so easy, and I sent this recipe to a few of my friends. My family loved it. Will do again and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I halved the recipe & added a couple of tbp of worcestershire as well as about a 1/4 cup of a finely shredded colby/monterey jack blend. I also added garlic powder & onion powder....I thought it was pretty bland before the additions. I wasn't wow'ed by the recipe on teh night I served it (made it the same day) but when we had some the next night, it was excellent. So definitely give the flavors some time to get to know one another. ;o) Oh, I also used real bacon bits instead of frying bacon...it's easier & leaner. Thansk for the yummy cheesball recipe Kelli Tabor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Best cheeseball I ever made! Had it at a baby shower, and everyone wanted the recipe!!! I used a pouch of Hormel real bacon pieces and that made it so much easier. Also added 1/4 tsp of garlic powder. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
This is REALLY good. The only problem my husband and I have with it is that it's hard for us to keep in mind is that half of it is NOT considered one serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
I took this to my husbands house for Christmas and it was gone before I got to have hardly any of it! Everyone raved about the taste and wants me to bring it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKBERTHOT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
Loved this recipe. I usually like anything with bacon (I know, I know) and this was no exception. I did follow other's suggestions and added some garlic and onion powders. I also added about 1/2 c. of cheddar. Left off the pecans though. This is great on everything from crackers to raw veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2002
Excellent recipe. Tasty and simple. Everyone who tries it, loves it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flayed Man Cheese Ball

Creep ’em out completely with a cheese ball that’s frighteningly good.

Pine Cone Cheese Ball

See how to make a holiday cheese ball that looks like a pine cone.

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States