Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was really good. I kind of estimated everything. I used what to me looked like 3 big yams and cooked them per recipe, with just a bit of change. As some of the other reviewers suggested, I added in a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and a splash of vanilla, used half sugar and half brown sugar. I also used almost a cup of water, as the sweet potatoes looked big to me, and it worked out very well. I had syrupy sweet sauce on the bottom of the pan, not too watery and bland, and after I mashed the potatoes, it was like sweet potato casserole. If anything, it was too sweet, even after I cut out half the white sugar. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was my first time making candied yams and they taste wonderful. I made half the batch. And added cinnamon and nutmeg with less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These were a hit with my family this past thanksgiving. There wasn't any left. I like other reviewers use 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white. I also added a little orange juice as well. My hubby was a huge fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good recipe. I did take the advice of others and use only 1/4 of water. There was still a lot of water at the end so maybe next time I won't use any. And I did add 1 tsp of cinnamon and it made the taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vlmills99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I don't like sweet potatoes, can't stand them actually. But I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and OMG!! Everyone loved it. I actually ate a little of it. I guess I can't say I don't eat Sweet Potatoes anymore. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First time I tried this recipe and I loved it. I used to boil my yams and then bake them in the oven with butter and sugar and now I have a way to do it right on the stove. The aroma is intoxicating. I substituted 1/2 c. orange juice for the water and used 1 c. of brown sugar as well as butter, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a light drizzle of maple syrup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Almost good as Granny's! Altered some: I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of dark brown sugar. Added 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoring and a few sprinkles of cinammon.! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I wish I would have read all the other comments. Like everyone else, it was all liquid and no syrup. I threw in three marshmellows at the end, did not help. Next time, I'll try what the others did and leave out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great, easy recipe! Even my husband who dislikes candied yams loved them! I will make this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These were absolutely delicious. I did not add any water, I used only 1 cup sugar then added about 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar. I also substituted Country Crock spread for butter. I also added cinnamon nutmeg and a little lemon extract. Soooo yummy! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States