Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I just eliminated the water. They will make thier own. Add 1/2 cup brown sugar, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon,a dash of nutmeg and 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
288 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
My mother-in-law wanted yams for Easter dinner, so I made this recipe. I didn't get syrupy and thick in the pan, I cooked it for about 45 mins. and the yams were done but there was no syrup - just water and seasonings. So - I put it in a corning ware dish and popped it in the oven with all the liquid. I let it cook at 400 degress for about 40 mins. and it turned out great!! Everyone loved it and said they hope I make it for Thanksgiving! I added a small amount of nutmeg, cinnamon and swirled some molasses on top while it was cooking! It was a true success !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANETTYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
The flavor was alright, not the best I've had, and there was too much liquid. It wasn't a "syrup" as it never thickened. The yams were just floating in loads of liquid. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first. Then I put them in the oven with the sugars and butter. I too used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. That is the only thing that I changed about this recipe. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first, then cooked them in the oven and added nutmeg and cinnamon to the syrup. These were a hit and just like mom used to make when I was a kid. Thanks Pamela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is momma’s recipe! If you want the candied yams to be more syrupy, decease the water to 1/4 cup, you really don’t need as much as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
These always come out great. I leave the pieces of sweet potato bigger than what I'd consider a "cube" because otherwise they disintegrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were outstanding. I must have used four really big yams, because it looked like there was hardly any water in the saucepan, so I added more and ended up with a lot of the syrupy stuff at the end, but thats was alright....I just added some more cubed yams and cooked them again. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar and mixed the yams at the end with a hand mixture for a smoother consistency. Maybe I am just partial to butter and sugar...but these were terrific and easy to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
The recipe was awesome. I cooked it on the stove until it was tender. Then I threw it in the oven with some marshmellows and let it bake for a few more minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Excellent dish! I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States