Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is momma’s recipe! If you want the candied yams to be more syrupy, decease the water to 1/4 cup, you really don’t need as much as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These were really sweet. So I decreased the amount of sugar by half. Otherwise, my husband enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first. Then I put them in the oven with the sugars and butter. I too used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. That is the only thing that I changed about this recipe. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is a great base recipe but you will probably have to experiment with the size of the cubes to get them to the consistency you like. I like it better with half the butter and sugar and then mashed to a hot buttery sticky sweet pulp. Then I eat it in a bowl all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I halved everything and it tasted great. Wicked easy. Stirred it at the end and made it smooth, and it was perfect. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I used canned sweet potatos to save on time. However , next time I will just make the syrup part on its own . Then add the canned potatos towards the end. I added everthing at once / potatos were too mushy . My fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I modified this dish to make it a little healthier, I love the basic taste of sweet potatoes and a touch of sugar. I sprinkled as much sugar as needed to lightly dust the sweet potatoes in the pan and then only added a dab of butter. My potatoes were done in 20 minutes. Great snack on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
:Very good I added pineapple ring was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
i have never had yams before, and i don't know why. these were absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were outstanding. I must have used four really big yams, because it looked like there was hardly any water in the saucepan, so I added more and ended up with a lot of the syrupy stuff at the end, but thats was alright....I just added some more cubed yams and cooked them again. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar and mixed the yams at the end with a hand mixture for a smoother consistency. Maybe I am just partial to butter and sugar...but these were terrific and easy to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States