Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These were great and so simple to make. I loved the part about not stirring it. That left my time free to prepare other dishes for our holiday meal. This was a wonderful side dish with our ham. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The directions were great - my mother-in-law scoffed at me for cooking them on a stove and not in the oven, but everyone agreed that they turn out great. I followed the recipe that SOUTHPAWCOOK posted in their review (adding brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg) and they were very soupy, so I just strained out the yams with a spoon, put them in a corning ware cooking dish, put the mini marshmallows on top, and them put them in the oven until the marshmallows were golden brown. They turned out great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These are great. I halved the sugar and added an equal amount of brown sugar. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg and cooked it with the butter and sugar on the stove top just to melt the butter. I then poured the mixure over the yams in a casserole dish and baked them at 400 for 40 minutes. I cut the yam pieces fairly big and they don't fall apart and have a great texure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the closest to my Mom's old fashioned candied yams that I have found. I doubled the amount of sweet potatoes, halved first crosswise, then cut in quarters. I added a cup of sugar because of the extra sweet potatoes, but no extra butter. I used my iron Dutch oven and lid. In 40 minutes the potatoes were tender, held their shape as desired, (not mushy). However the syrup was too thin, so I spooned the potatoes into a casserole dish, and cooked the syrup a little longer until thicker, then spooned it over the potatoes. Next time I'll omit the water altogether. If you want old fashioned real candied yams and not a sweet potato casserole, try this recipe, but omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rayne, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
i only use one cup of sugar and a tablespoon of fancy molasses. two cups of sugar made it way to sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup light brown sugar and added a few dashes of ground cinnamon and ground cloves and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
similiar to grandmothers. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Sooooooooo yummy!! These were fabulous! I took others advise & only put in about 1/8 C water. I also did 1.5 C white sugar & 1.5 C brown sugar. The entire pan was gone within an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Hint,slice potatoes lengthwise, do not use any more than a tablespoon of water. The potatoes will make their own water; otherwise the potatoes will not thicken as they cook. For those of you who said you would never make this again try using less water. I also add a few drops of vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My husband wanted sweet potatoes without the marshmallows and pecans, etc. A very plain kind of guy. This recipe was the best I've ever used and so easy. This will be the dish I use for every holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States