Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe. I have never made candied yams or eaten candied yams not even from a can. But my hubby loves them and I was making them for him for the very first time the other night. This recipe was a great help. I did made some modifications. I didn't add any water, only the butter, I added the sugar, some vanilla, nutmeg and cinamon. It was great. My family and friends were literally asking for more, but I didn't have enough for so many repeats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Not bad! it was actually pretty good,however, a tad too sweet and syrupy. I guess next time I won't add so much water and maybe use a little less sugar :) overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Nice recipe; I used orange juice instead of water. and added chopped pecans. I parboiled the yams and then put them in the oven covered, then took the foil off for 15 minutes. Tender and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
To many adjustments were needed for my taste. The potatos' were boiled for 15-20 minutes and cut into a baking dish. I cooked on the stove top 1/2 stick of butter 2 teaspoons of vanilla, used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon and a tablespoon of molasses. This warm sauce was poured over the potatos' and placed in the oven for 30 minutes at 375. The recipe I tried as written and was very bland. That maybe just to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
add vanilla and cinnamon. once potatoes are done remove potatoes and allow liquid to simmer another 1/2 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Loved it!!! Me and sweet potatoe have never had a good relationship, but this recipe turned out great. I did reduce the water and placed it in the oven (with marshmallows) for a few minutes just to brown the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedevined1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The taste was okay, but don't add the water. The potatos have enough water in them already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Even though I cooked the yams separately before I put them in the oven with the butter and sugars, they were gasping for air and swimming in a pool of syrup when I checked them. Adding the vanilla and cinnamon gave them the taste of Cinnabon's, a smell that I avoid when I am at the mall. Much too sweet for human consumption. A noble effort, but I had to rate them 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chimeyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I changed it to 1/4 of water since it makes so much water, add a small amount of maple syrup, and 4 tablespoons of butter rather than a full cup. Sprinkled with cinnamon, these really taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Good, added maple syrup and nutmeg. Only used one sweet potato and it was plenty for 2 people. Had to use a bit more water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States