Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great, easy recipe! Even my husband who dislikes candied yams loved them! I will make this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These were absolutely delicious. I did not add any water, I used only 1 cup sugar then added about 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar. I also substituted Country Crock spread for butter. I also added cinnamon nutmeg and a little lemon extract. Soooo yummy! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Voted the best dish on the plate last night! This is the first time that I made this dish and it was a hit! I read several reviews and reduced the water to a minimum...next time I will not add the water at all. I also placed the yams in a baking dish, added mini-marshmellows and baked it until the marshmellows were golden brown. EVERYONE raved about the yams!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Loved them! They do live up to there name YUMMY and CANDIED. Keep the word Candied in mind. It is suppose to be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Just great, first dish gone. Did use 1 cup of brown sugar & 1 cup white. Did not use any water. Microwaved the potatoes for 8 minutes first.\ then peeled and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were quite delicious! I followed some of the other reviewers advice and only used enough water to coat the bottom of the pan, used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 cups white, and added 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. After the 40 minutes on the stove, I took out all the potatoes and simmered the syrup for about 10 - 15 more minutes to thicken it. After that I poured the syrup onto the potatoes, covered them up, and brought them over for Thanksgiving! I thought they were good and the family gave positive reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great...I was in a hurry so I parboiled the potatoes for about five minutes while I prepared the syrup mixture...I decreased the water, added a splash of orange juice and about 2t of cinnamon to the syrup and, while the syrup was a little watery (probably because mine only cooked for 15 minutes), the potatoes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
these yams turned out perfectly. I omitted the water. I peeled and sliced buttered my pot layered potatoes and did everything else w/out water YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe. I have never made candied yams or eaten candied yams not even from a can. But my hubby loves them and I was making them for him for the very first time the other night. This recipe was a great help. I did made some modifications. I didn't add any water, only the butter, I added the sugar, some vanilla, nutmeg and cinamon. It was great. My family and friends were literally asking for more, but I didn't have enough for so many repeats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Not bad! it was actually pretty good,however, a tad too sweet and syrupy. I guess next time I won't add so much water and maybe use a little less sugar :) overall, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States