Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Almost good as Granny's! Altered some: I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of dark brown sugar. Added 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoring and a few sprinkles of cinammon.! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I wish I would have read all the other comments. Like everyone else, it was all liquid and no syrup. I threw in three marshmellows at the end, did not help. Next time, I'll try what the others did and leave out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great, easy recipe! Even my husband who dislikes candied yams loved them! I will make this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These were absolutely delicious. I did not add any water, I used only 1 cup sugar then added about 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar. I also substituted Country Crock spread for butter. I also added cinnamon nutmeg and a little lemon extract. Soooo yummy! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Voted the best dish on the plate last night! This is the first time that I made this dish and it was a hit! I read several reviews and reduced the water to a minimum...next time I will not add the water at all. I also placed the yams in a baking dish, added mini-marshmellows and baked it until the marshmellows were golden brown. EVERYONE raved about the yams!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Loved them! They do live up to there name YUMMY and CANDIED. Keep the word Candied in mind. It is suppose to be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Just great, first dish gone. Did use 1 cup of brown sugar & 1 cup white. Did not use any water. Microwaved the potatoes for 8 minutes first.\ then peeled and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were quite delicious! I followed some of the other reviewers advice and only used enough water to coat the bottom of the pan, used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 cups white, and added 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. After the 40 minutes on the stove, I took out all the potatoes and simmered the syrup for about 10 - 15 more minutes to thicken it. After that I poured the syrup onto the potatoes, covered them up, and brought them over for Thanksgiving! I thought they were good and the family gave positive reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great...I was in a hurry so I parboiled the potatoes for about five minutes while I prepared the syrup mixture...I decreased the water, added a splash of orange juice and about 2t of cinnamon to the syrup and, while the syrup was a little watery (probably because mine only cooked for 15 minutes), the potatoes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
these yams turned out perfectly. I omitted the water. I peeled and sliced buttered my pot layered potatoes and did everything else w/out water YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States