Yummy Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Very good recipe! I've made this dish a few times and never disappointed. I deducted one star because I think that the recipe is made better by substituting in rice vinegar for white vinegar and adding one tablespoon of toasted sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I make this regularly and always get requests for the recipe. I never bother with the chow mein noodles but use double the almonds. I usually just need 1/2 recipe for a meal at home (and still wind up with a little left over). I've used it with spinach and chard also, it's always yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This is a delicious recipe! This is the first time I have used BABY Bok Choy - it was tender and delicious (the large bok choy is more tough and better cooked). I was muching on the leaves - so tender and wonderful flavor, you can use practically every bit, stems and all. The dressing was delicious. I used low-sodium soy sauce and half a bunch of green onions, as mine were huge. I would recommend either doubling the salad or halving the dressing, as it made a lot of dressing. Also, better eaten right away because the noodles get soggy by the next day (maybe sprinkle them on top and don't mix them in?). Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARFLOWER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
I couldn't find baby bok choy so I had to use regular bok choy, and used tarragon vinegar rather than plain white vinegar, and this was so delicious! A very different flavor which was a nice change from "regular" salads. I will try harder to find baby bok choy as I think this salad would be even better with it. Update: I make this often but I use romaine lettuce which we've decided we like better than bok choy. Sometimes I add canned mandarin orange slices which makes this salad even YUMMIER! Also, I serve the chow mein noodles "on the side" so they don't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I've never eaten bok choy before. I chose this recipe for our first taste of bok choy, and we both really loved it. Easy and tasty. The second time I made this I used toasted pecans instead, because I prefer them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
The dressing is very good. I have also had craisins and sunflower seeds added to the recipe which gives it some pizzaz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a fabulous treat. The various textures make it a delight to eat and the colors and variety of ingredients lead to a pretty plate. I didn't have any white wine vinegar so I used Sake instead along with a few teaspoons of regular vinegar. I also cut the green leafy sections of the bok choy into strips. I cut the white staulk into long rectangles and then I sliced the rectangles diagonally into spears.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
I have never had bok choy before but I recieved some and thought I would try this recipe......Wonderful...did not do the almonds or the chow mein and it was still perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
Very tasty, Since I anticipated leftovers, I added the chow mein noodles to each portion to prevent sogginess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Delish. I tweeked. I'm not sure what constitutes a "bunch" of baby bok choy. I purchase baby bok choy heads in a bag at my asian market, usually 6-9 per bag depending on size. I was only serving 3 people so I used 6 baby heads, 3 green onions. For a bit of color I added 3 sliced radishes and 1 fresh ear of sweet corn kernals. I adjusted the dressing as well. 1 T oil, 1 T rice vinegar, 1 T soy sauce and a smidgen (using those cute little measuring spoons) of powdered stevia instead of sugar. I added the onions into the dressing while I chopped the salad and tossed it all together when ready to eat. I served this as a side with lo mein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States