Yummy Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
We also receive a good deal of bok choy or similar greens (tat soi this week) and have found limited favor from the kiddos in stir frying them with our other veggies. So this recipe was a great way to ENJOY every last bite of the strong-flavored green! We were serving to father who is diabetic, so used Splenda in place of sugar, and I would use less sweetener or sugar in the future, as we added naturally sweet cranberries and drained can of mandarin oranges. Skipped the almonds this time, due to son's nut allergy, but we would have liked having those in the salad, too! We had so much dressing left at the bottom of salad bowl, that we poured it into a jar to save for the next time we make it! Oh, and I just dressed a tiny sample of the greens for my youngest, who was hungry sooner than dinner was ready, and the bok choy/tat soi didn't wilt enough to make her dish of salad as palatable as the salad tossed with the dressing, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I received about 10 bunches of baby Bok Choy in my co-op basket yesterday. I had never tried Bok Choy, so I needed a great recipe for it to help use up my abundance. Delicious!! I will definitely be making this receipe again this week to use up the rest. The only change I made was to double the amount of bok choy, when I first made the salad there was a bunch of dressing in the bottom of the bowl. Perfect, and I also suggest putting the chow mein noodles in the individual servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
With the suggestions from other users - upped the bok choy, and added crasins and manderine oranges! The "anti-anything green" husband had several helpings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is very similar to 3 other recipes, so I combined all 3. I added carrots for crunch, used regular Bok Choy since I didn’t have baby, and also followed another suggestion and added the noodles to each portion because I anticipated leftovers. I added the flavor packet to the soy mix for flavor and poured over the cabbage early to soften it up a bit. Overall it was very good but needed something to give it some oomph, to make it memorable. Perhaps some red pepper flakes or some lemon or lime zest? Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GwynR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
This my new favorite way to use bok choy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I tried something similar to this a few years ago but like this version much better. We ordered Chinese take-out the other night and I made this salad to go with dinner and my friends loved it. I used Splenda instead of sugar, added dried cranberries and mandarin orange segments and topped it with crushed noodles from Ramen soup (instead of the chow mein noodles) and served it in individual salad bowls. Very pretty presentation. Also, I let everyone add their dressing as desired. We were able to eat the left-over salad the next day and it would have been a soggy mess if I had dressed the whole salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2010
This dressing is delicious. I did not have bok choy so I substituted a bag of broccoli slaw and a bag of fresh baby spinach. I toasted the almonds and also topped the salad with crunchy wonton strips. This goes great with any Asian meat or fish recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Awesome salad to pair with pork loin! My husband went crazy over it. I added sliced red cabbage, sesame seeds, and crasins to add some extra crunch and color. I can't wait to make this salad for summer picnics! So easy, and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loganton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I used Sesame Oil because someone suggested that it has a "more authentic" taste. And I agree! This is a great tasting slad. I add chicken fried with hoisin sauce, & mandarin oranges and it becomes a very healthy lunch! Thanks for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Bourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States