Yummy Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
The dressing was too salty and plain. Added some ginger and squeezed a lime in the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
ADD JUST A SPLASH OF SEASEME OIL & RICE WINE VINEGAR FOR A MORE ASIAN FLAVOR!!! I use baby spinach, cranberries, mandarin orange slices, sliced almonds, green onions, noodles. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runner2008
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I went out on a limb and bought a box of baby bok choy at Costco - there must have been 20 of those little guys in there - and then thought "What am I going to do with all this?" - making the bok choy the base of a salad is a great idea and such a nice change from the usual lettuce and spinach. I chopped everything up, added a little grated carrot and chopped red pepper, just because I had some on hand and left it undressed in an airtight container in the fridge. I had it for lunch with a little turkey or chicken on top for protein. Also used it as a side at dinner time that week. It keeps well and was a flavorful change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Great salad. I would add chow mein noodles on top each plate/bowl. I had leftovers and the noodles were ok but a bit soggy the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Light, crunchy and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nine Mile Falls, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Absolutely yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Delicious! I used organic garden grown baby bok choy, and substituted Braggs amino acids for soy sauce and agave nectar for sugar. Thanks for the other suggestions to use rice vinegar and sesame oil- this is a yummy dressing. Couldn't bring myself to eat chow mein noodles so doubled the almonds also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
My husband didn't think he would like this....he LOVED it and so did I! I didn't have ramen or chow mein noodles, just added extra toasted almonds and sesame seeds with some ground up crispy seaweed. The 1/2 tsp of ground coriander that Candy suggested was the finishing spice that made it all good. Added fresh sliced mushrooms too. Anything would be good with that dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We loved this. Like others, we made a few modifications, but the base recipe is delicious. We couldn't get much bok choy, and only regular bok choy, not baby, so we subbed the second bunch with baby spinach. Also used rice vinegar, 1 T. toasted sesame oil, mandarin oranges, and, 1/2 tsp ground coriander, for a more authentic taste. As stated, this makes a lot more dressing than you would ever use on 2 bunches of bok choy (we used a little less than half), but you *will* use the rest. Salad would be great with the addition of fried or grilled chicken strips, and dressing would make a great marinade for chicken or beef. The almonds and chow mein noodles are the necessary finish for this salad...don't skip them! Thanks very much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy Fanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Wow, this is just terrific! We had bok choy in the garden so tried this on a whim. We subbed Splenda for the sugar and doubled the almonds instead of using chow mein noodles. I do suggest cutting the dressing in half -- there was a ton left in the bottom on the bowl. My mouth is watering just thinking about this salad -- I may need to make it again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States