Yummy Blueberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I live in Central-Europe, Hungary, where blueberries are not typical therefore I attempted making the cobbler using mostly red currants - and a few black, because I didn't have enough from those... Also, I noticed that I was out of lemons, so I used some orange juice instead, and I love spices, so I sprinkled 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg over the berries before covering them with batter. I used 3/4 cup of sugar both times the recipe called for it as others suggested and the cobbler came out being deliciuosly tart and fruity. For those who have a sweet tooth, some vanilla ice cream made it even more delectable. Oh, and I used flour and ground walnut instead of cornstarch, which I didn't have... Taking everything into account I must say: WOW! This recipe is a definite keeper!! It is healthy and sooo delicious at the same time. Now I want to try this cobbler with all sorts of berries... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This cobbler smelled great as it baked and looked delicious....but...it is almost ridiculously sweet. My teenage daughter made it for dinner and after tasting it, I looked at the recipe I saw that it called for more than TWO and a HALF CUPS of sugar for 3 cups of blueberries. No wonder it was cloyingly sweet. (And I do have a sweet tooth!) Sorry to be so negative in a sea of positive reviews but we won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JCAFELD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: El Segundo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
This is really good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This recipe is unbelievably simple and fantastic! I don't normally take untested recipes to gatherings but I needed a dessert the other night and had a couple bags of frozen blueberries so I thought I'd give it a try. It was gone in less than 5 minutes! I used a mixture of frozen wild and regular blueberries and I did not have whole milk so I used skim. It turned out perfect (the boiling water part freaked me out a bit, but like others said, it gives it that perfect crust so don't skip it). So many people recommend reducing the sugar but I didn't. Nobody complained that it was too sweet and hey you only live once! If you are eating right 80%, you can let go 20%! Thank you so much for this recipe, will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Fast and easy. My Fourth of July party guests all raved about the cobbler. I will absolutely serve again but will cut amount of sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Independence, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This was wonderful. My entire church raved over it. Now everyone wants the recipe. My husbands new favorite too! I followed the recipe except put less sugar like other reviewsers said. Loved it! Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Will definitely be making this again. I was in a hurry and didn't measure a thing and it still turned out delicious. I think the only thing I did different, is tossed the blueberries with a little cornstarch after adding the lemon juice. VERY SIMPLE recipe that tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
This is the BEST cobbler I've ever made. I love to cook and have made numerous cobblers over the years. This recipe was such a hit that it was all eaten in a matter of hours!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
very yummy and very fun! I made this last week, and my family is demanding it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPaetzold

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alta, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Delicious and the family loved it. So sorry if you are one of those people who want the recipe followed exactly, bc I try to improve the nutrition of most carb based recipes. My family and I have to eat it after all. I halved the sugar in each step. I used half whole wheat flour and it was still fluffy. I only had an 8x8 pan, so that's what I used. It took the same amount of time that the larger pan would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 91-100 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States