Yummy Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Fantastic!!!! We both loved it so much the poor dog didn't get any!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe! Easy to make. I was amazed at how tender the meat was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
A couple changes for this: Season the steak with salt and pepper, then sear it on HIGHEST heat before putting in the oven (this will GREATLY improve the texture). A pinch of Thyme does wonders and a sprinkle of grated Romano cheese over the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this tonight for my family. It was not a hit. We did not like the texture of the beef (though it was tender) and it was bland. I never leave negative feedback but I followed the recipe exactly and it just wasn't good, even with adding Italian seasoning as one reviewer suggested. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I normally do not change the recipes that I try, but I added 1 tsp. of cumin powder and 2 tbsp. of tomato paste with 1/4 cup of water for extra flavor. It tastes very similar to a Cuban dish called ropa vieja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I thought this recipe was "okay"...after reading reviews, I kicked it up a little. I added mushrooms, some leftover cream of mushroom soup I had sitting in the fridge I needed to use anyway, an extra bay leaf, some garlic and seasoning salt. I halved the tomatoes (which I kinda wish I wouldn't have b/c there was not much "sauce" when served over egg noodles). All in all, it had good flavor, just not very exciting...I had some stew meat I needed to cook and was looking for something different, so it was GREAT in that sense ~ Thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was just ok...and I that was with a few modifications. I thickened the sauce, added celery salt and Montreal Steak spice, and added grated swiss cheese to the top. I am not quite sure what it would have tasted like without the additional ingredients -- but I would think it would be very bland. As it was, it was still not a home run. I'd give it 3.5 but the option isn't there. Not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Yum! I've made it twice since printing this recipe. Definitely good with rice. My grandma made it too and she liked it as well - she said it is alot like the swiss steak she makes. My boyfriend liked it too and that's saying alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was not at all "bland and boring", as was suggested by another reviewer. In fact, it was very good and easy to prepare. Additionally, you can further perk it up by adding almost any variety of canned tomato. Multiple flavors and varities are readily available at the store, so this recipe can be modified easily when you're up for a slight change of flavor. All in all, I thought it was very good and I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
I don't know what other people are talking about when they say this dish has no flavor---I thought it was fabulous!! The steak was so tender and it smelled amazing while it was cooking. The only changes I made was to use diced tomatoes instead of crushed,and zucchini instead of the pepper, just because that's what I had on hand and they worked perfectly. I served this over egg noodles with grated cheese and even my picky toddler ate some!! Thanks Melissa for a dish I'll be making very frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States