Yummy Baked Chicken Thighs in Tangy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used brown sugar instead of white, because I thought the molasses in the brown sugar would add a depth of flavor that the white sugar did not. I also used 2 tablespoons of honey mustard instead of the 1 teaspoon of regular yellow mustard. I had no A-1 steak sauce, but I suspect that just a "dash" (less than 1/8th teaspoon) in a recipe of this magnitude that calls for 3 lbs. of chicken and makes a TON of sauce won't be missed, and is probably just a plug for the A-1 sauce company. I have high blood pressure, so I left out the salt entirely and used only 1 tablespoon of butter (both changes drastically decreased the sodium content). These changes make this a lower-sodium recipe. The tangy flavors of the combined ingredients are so delicious, you won't miss the salt at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mainerisms

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Augusta, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Great recipe! Just made it for dinner and it was very tasty. Even my husband liked it, and he's very picky. The only thing I changed was the cooking temp. I opted to follow another reviewer and baked it at 350 for about 70 minutes, and used a meat thermometer just to be sure. Also, I would recommend cutting out the teaspoon of salt - there is plenty in the Worcestershire sauce. It was yummy over rice, but I can see egg noodles or even mashed potatoes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this last night for dinner and loved the sauce. UNFORTUNATELY, I followed some of the other suggestions to dip the chicken in egg/flour/breadcrumbs and fry first. Don't do it! The coating became mushy and was way too heavy for the dish. I think this chicken does NOT need to be coated and browned first. I did cook at 350 for about 1 hour 30 minutes... covered for the first hour. Served with noodles (with sauce over it). Will make again, Without coating/browning chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loni

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hartford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Yummy is the right word in this title. Loved this dish! The recipe does not state skinless AND boneless but that is what I had. I baked at 350 for 70 - 75 minutes and served over rice. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
This was wonderful! My husband is a man that doesn't like any food unless it was made by his mother so when he said that he actually really liked this I was in shock! The recipe was really easy to follow and was very flexible. I had most of the ingredients in the fridge except a few but I substituted for what I didn't have and it was great! I used a light brown sugar instead of white, I am out of A-1 and paprika so a little of whatever I had in the spice cabinet and some Chipotle BBQ sauce worked fine. Positive that I am going to rotate this recipe into the menu! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Evans12

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brookston, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jaz21
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Love this recipe! Chicken came out very good. The sauce to me was a bit acidic so i added honey, more sugar, and bbq sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Yum! My husband hates baked chicken with a passion and this recipe (with a few minor changes) actually got a good review from him. I used Brown sugar and added honey and cayenne pepper and extra mustard and I rubbed the chicken down with brown sugar before putting the sauce on it to even out the acidity and spice of it. Also served over white rice and I'm definitely making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Hughes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
A very easy and good recipe. Only change I made was adding a Tb sp of honey to cut acidic as one reviewer had done. I will keep this recipe for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jclark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This made my husband happy. Very tasty. I increased the sauce amount and thickened it slightly with corn starch before serving. I also included boneless breast. Turned it into Tangy Thighs and Breasts. Works best if you marinate the chicken in it in the fridge awhile before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This was very good. My husband loved it! I added a few of my own ideas to this recipe. I egg washed the chicken and dredged in a mixture of flour and italian panko crumbs and browned on the stove with some olive oil. I then sauted sliced onions and mushrooms with a little butter, olive oil, salt and pepper. I put this on top of the chicken before putting the sauce on. I added a little hot sauce (Siracha) and chopped garlic to the the sauce also. Baked at 325 for about 1.5 hours. Delish!!! Served with Jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamg208

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Hot Mustard Chicken Thighs

See how to make baked chicken thighs with a sweet, hot mustard glaze.

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States