Yummy Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Followed exactly except for the cherries because I don't like those in a pound cake. This turned out more bland than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Rather time-consuming but a good, moist cake. I only used 1 1/4 C sugar and it wasn't missed. Also, I didn't have quite 1 C of maraschino cherries, so I added some red candied cherries. It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Oooo, this was YUMMY! VERY moist and tender. I loved the slightly crisp, buttery outside and fruity, yummy, moist inside. I think I may add a banana or 2 next time, but it was great as is. I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of 1/2 teaspoon, but that was my only change. This was a simple delicious cake that I will be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
MOIST & DELICIOUS! This cake is excellent! The walnuts mixed with the fruit gives it great flavor. A little cinnamon would be a nice addition but not necessary. It's just a personal preference. Thank you Gigi for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I hate giving poor reviews but this was just really bland and tasteless, even after following the recipe exactly and then using a teaspoon or so of cinnamon. Husband and I only ate a piece each and ended up tossing the rest. Definitely won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a surprisingly wonderful cake! Very moist, easy to make. I made it with the Maraschino Cherries - which I normally do not like. Works very well and tastes fabulous! Nutmeg and Cinnamon add something special to this cake also. I can't wait to try it with other fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
YUM! I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. Very moist. I cut up and froze in zip lock bags, and when I eat I simply put them in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
What went wrong. There is so much oil it soaked through a napkin and when I push on the cake is runs out. Has a very bland flavor and the apples are mush despite I cut them then kinda big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Well, I have the dissenting opinion on this cake, so give it a try before making up your mind. I've been baking a lot of cake recipes from this site in order to find one worthy of entering in our local fair, and this one is not in the running. I served it to two different sets of guests as well as my family but, after a week, ended up throwing half away because nobody would eat seconds. It is moist, so that's not the problem. The flavor is somewhat flat, though - just not a cake that grabbed us and had us wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
YUM. This recipe serves as a great base for variations...I didn't have the cherries, so I used raisins. Since I used that combo, I added spice: Fresh Nutmeg, Cinnamon and Cardamom Powder (All 3 mixed to a total of about 2 teaspoons.) My inlaws (from India) loved it! The cake itself baked a dream! No complaints here! I must try sometime as written (with cherries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States