Yummy Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Followed exactly except for the cherries because I don't like those in a pound cake. This turned out more bland than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.riddle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Rather time-consuming but a good, moist cake. I only used 1 1/4 C sugar and it wasn't missed. Also, I didn't have quite 1 C of maraschino cherries, so I added some red candied cherries. It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Oooo, this was YUMMY! VERY moist and tender. I loved the slightly crisp, buttery outside and fruity, yummy, moist inside. I think I may add a banana or 2 next time, but it was great as is. I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of 1/2 teaspoon, but that was my only change. This was a simple delicious cake that I will be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
MOIST & DELICIOUS! This cake is excellent! The walnuts mixed with the fruit gives it great flavor. A little cinnamon would be a nice addition but not necessary. It's just a personal preference. Thank you Gigi for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I hate giving poor reviews but this was just really bland and tasteless, even after following the recipe exactly and then using a teaspoon or so of cinnamon. Husband and I only ate a piece each and ended up tossing the rest. Definitely won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
This is a surprisingly wonderful cake! Very moist, easy to make. I made it with the Maraschino Cherries - which I normally do not like. Works very well and tastes fabulous! Nutmeg and Cinnamon add something special to this cake also. I can't wait to try it with other fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
YUM! I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. Very moist. I cut up and froze in zip lock bags, and when I eat I simply put them in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
What went wrong. There is so much oil it soaked through a napkin and when I push on the cake is runs out. Has a very bland flavor and the apples are mush despite I cut them then kinda big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Well, I have the dissenting opinion on this cake, so give it a try before making up your mind. I've been baking a lot of cake recipes from this site in order to find one worthy of entering in our local fair, and this one is not in the running. I served it to two different sets of guests as well as my family but, after a week, ended up throwing half away because nobody would eat seconds. It is moist, so that's not the problem. The flavor is somewhat flat, though - just not a cake that grabbed us and had us wanting more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
YUM. This recipe serves as a great base for variations...I didn't have the cherries, so I used raisins. Since I used that combo, I added spice: Fresh Nutmeg, Cinnamon and Cardamom Powder (All 3 mixed to a total of about 2 teaspoons.) My inlaws (from India) loved it! The cake itself baked a dream! No complaints here! I must try sometime as written (with cherries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States