Yum Yums Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
My son and I loved this but my husband found it too sweet. Next time I think I will omit the jam. Sure was yummy though!!! Very rich, only need a little piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYMAYROSS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Good but not a wow dessert. Best warm with milk or ice cream. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
It's sweet, that's true, but really really good! the walnuts give it a "different" flavour and also a rough texture that almonds or other nuts lack, in my opinion. I tasted it just out from the oven and still don't know how it really turned out after a few hours. I doubled the recipe and baked it in a 9x13 inch pan and even changing the proportions, which is sometimes risky, I say thumb up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
I have made a similar recipe to this for years minus the jam. They are sweet enough as is so adding jam is just away too much for our tastes. Otherwise they were always a favorite and other nuts can be substituted. Baking the crust for even 5 mins. does make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I totally take back my previous post (see below). I had tasted the bars after they'd only been out of the oven for about a half hour. The key is to let them sit for a few hours. They are incredibly addictive! I still believe the crust should be baked first, though. I was so excited to try this recipe because I had some jam that needed to be used up. Plus it seemed to have all the right makings for a yummy dessert (hence the name). I was totally disappointed. The bottom crust should have been baked first before putting on the jam. However this wouldn't have helped rescue this recipe because it's just way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Disaster. Not sure what went wrong, since I followed the recipe exactly, but the top crust never firmed up and the jam became super running.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
My family really liked the bar. This is a good way to use up strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
It was a great way to use up some bottles of jam and it tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
These are just delicious! The strawberry jam and brown sugar mix together to make a very yummy combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
The crust stayed doughy the first batch I made so I cooked the crust for 10 mins. then added the batter and cooked it for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States