Yum Yum Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent bar recipe when the weather gets cooler and something moist and gooey is needed with you favorite hot beverage. I didn't use the coconut, but used 1 cup of chopped pecans. It tastes like pecan pie cookies. My husband said, "You can make those again...anytime."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
not bad. Really easy to cook... it was really a fun rescipe to make, especially with my little brothers. but, not bad. Not "Awesome" but, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was an interesting recipe. The crust was quite moist and the topping was decent. I wasn't expecting this to be as "bready" as it was, however, it was a nice surprise. I will definitely consider making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
No stars if I could. I actually went back and re-read the recipe to make sure I didn't screw it up. These went straight into the garbage. Gross. Way too sweet, very mushy (and I cooked mine an extra 15-20 mins!) and the sugar never cooked! It was still crystalized and crunched in your teeth as you ate them!! We didn't even finish our servings. What a waste of lovely ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
These came out WAY too sweet and WAY too mushy. I was very disapointed and definitely will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is a great recipe. It worked out really well, although for my taste I found that the top was just too crispy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I just made these and they are great! They remind me of pecan pie YUM. I took the advice of some and cut down the brown sugar but I think I will follow the recipe exact next time (we like rich desserts). I found the best way to do the crust was cut up the cold butter then mix it up with my hands. For those who say it was a gooey mess then I think they just didn't bake it long enough. They should come out of the pan just like a bar cookie. I will definately make these over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These were amazing! I made them for Christmas and they were a huge hit. Very gooey and delicious (but decadent)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
These did not turn out at all the bottom was dry and crumbly and the top was mushy I could not even get a whole one to come out of the pan I threw them all in the garbage needless to say I won't be trying these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2001
These treats are sweet, buttery, and chewy. The goodly amount of brown sugar, adds to the texture. It's not a cookie that I will bake often, because of that boosted sweetness. But, as long as they are made for "special occasions", these are treats that will be made for many years to come, because they truly are "yum-yummy". I've watched a tray of these disappear in a New York minute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States