Yum Yum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
What a terrific condiment for meats, veggies, truly YUM YUM! I halved the recipe and just eye-balled the ingredients. I did add a bit more tomato paste based on the reviews. Had some simple syrup in the fridge, so I just used a drizzle for the water and sugar. A definite do-over! Served a dollop on asian burgers, great meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe with AR. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Asian-Barbecue-Burgers/?prop31=1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Yum-Yum! I have nothing to compare this to as I don't think I've ever had Yum Yum sauce, but I made a recipe that called for it as a condiment. I made it as directed (used Hellman's) and let it sit overnight. It was delicious with our meal, which was Asian Chicken Meatball Lettuce Wraps. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is GREAT!!! Used less sugar. Added a little more butter and soy sauce kinda played with it a little.. Ate it at room temperature didnt prefer it cold. SO GOOD. New edition to my dinner menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Really good. I made this with homemade mayo and honey instead of sugar. By itself, the flavor is meh, but actually on food it's pretty darn tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This is exactly like the recipe we get at our local Hibachi restaurant. Now, with this recipe, we've mastered Japanese Fried Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Good starter recipe.. I've made this with tomato paste. It was ok, but it didn't come out quite right. I asked two of my friends and showed them the recipe, and they laughed at me. :( The pale orange color is not due to tomato paste, it should be due to the paprika. Rather than tomato paste, I now use 1.5 tablespoons of rice vinegar and 1.5 tablespoons of takara mirin (cooking wine). Though these can be adjusted to taste. Don't use the fake kikoman mirin found in most general supermarkets either. Lastly. If available in your area, use Kewpie mayo or any other Japanese brand mayo. It is more yolk based and will give you a more authentic taste if you've eaten at a more authentic hibachi joint. You can also go the route of making your own mayo from a Japanese recipe. ... I've also seen sakura recipes without paprika and instead use soy sauce, mirin, garlic powder, and pepper. Experiment a little. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Great starter recipe. I tried it as is, but found it needs at least 1-2 teaspoons more of tomato paste. YOU HAVE TO LET IT SIT OVERNIGHT before you try it. That is the key. The longer the favors meld, the better. I made another batch to use for next weekend. We also use only Hellmanns. That is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I really liked this sauce, but my husband didn't. May be because I didn't wait the 8 hours to serve it. I've made it twice, and will probably continue to make it for myself if we are out of store-bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Just like hibachi. Every restaurant is a little different so you can tweak this with a little rice wine vinegar or extra sugar and spices to taste. For me I just added little more tomato paste and a touch of vinegar. Money!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I loved this sauce. I also added a little more tomato paste and only used Hellmann's. I am serving it with my yummy crab ball recipe instead of cocktail sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make a creamy, sweet and slightly spicy dipping sauce.

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States