Yum Yum Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
People that change the ingredients and then say it was not as good as they thought it would be make me crazy. Make it like it is or keep pour comments to yourself. This was very good just as it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This dish is fabulous. I changed a couple things, of course! I used fresh green beans and made this in my slow cooker. I added a lot more bacon and a little bit of sugar to cut the bitternes. Also added mushrooms and onions. The tomatoes make a nice stew with the green beans. Very comforting and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe is the bomb. I did make some minor changes first I scale the recipe to serve 4 . Instead half can tomato I use the whole can roughly 1/3 cup chop onion and 2 small clove garlic chop finely added the last minute of sauting onion. I also added sugar about one teaspoon to help loose the can taste. My dad a picky eater said taste as good as fresh green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Don't change a thing in this recipe - it's wonderful! Great flavor and easy to prepare! Thank you for a terrific recipe!! NOTE TO KBOK - it's unfair to give this recipe only 3 stars, you made 4 changes so yours is a different recipe from the one posted - it was yours that got the 3 stars not this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This is delicious on its own, but I thought it was better the second time I made it because I added a clove of minced garlic to the onion. I also use frozen green beans, not canned. If you have any leftover diced potatoes, be sure to toss them in, they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Very good recipe. I did change it slightly. I used fresh green beans and they were taking a long time to cook so I added chicken broth at the end of the recipe and cooked for quite awhile to soften the beans. It turned out fantastic and everyone was raving out them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Different, yet very good. The addition of the bacon and stewed tomatoes add a nice stew-like taste to the green beans. It enhanced the taste and cut-down on some of the bitterness that green beans can have. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i was slightly disappointed with this recipe. instead of stewed tomatoes, i used fresh tomatoes, as well as fresh green beans. i added black pepper, chopped onions and garlic as well, and i felt like the veggies still could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great! I did not use onion becuase I was out, but will use next time.Also omitted the stewed tomatoes and added a tbs of butter to saute the bacon. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I told my friend about Allrecipes.com and she found/made this when my husband and I went to her house for Easter. I was leary because it only had one rating. I've learned my lesson. This is absolutely DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing this recipe. Others need to make it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States