Yum Yum Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I make a recipe like this called Hungarin beans. You saute bacon and a few garlic cloves (chopped fine). Add 2 cans of drained green beans and a large can of tomatoe sauce. simmer for 1/2 hour. Family asks for this at every holiday. Enjoy. Kthydake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Menlo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I told my friend about Allrecipes.com and she found/made this when my husband and I went to her house for Easter. I was leary because it only had one rating. I've learned my lesson. This is absolutely DELICIOUS! Thanks for sharing this recipe. Others need to make it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ballwin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Fabulous easy recipe! This is the second time I have made it. This time it was my mother-in-law that requested I make it again. I used fresh beans this time and also minced a large clove of garlic. Everyone loved it especially my toddler. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
Great! I did not use onion becuase I was out, but will use next time.Also omitted the stewed tomatoes and added a tbs of butter to saute the bacon. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
i was slightly disappointed with this recipe. instead of stewed tomatoes, i used fresh tomatoes, as well as fresh green beans. i added black pepper, chopped onions and garlic as well, and i felt like the veggies still could have used more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
This recipe is the bomb. I did make some minor changes first I scale the recipe to serve 4 . Instead half can tomato I use the whole can roughly 1/3 cup chop onion and 2 small clove garlic chop finely added the last minute of sauting onion. I also added sugar about one teaspoon to help loose the can taste. My dad a picky eater said taste as good as fresh green beans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
These were alright, I wasn't blown away or anything but they tasted good. I added some canned mushrooms to mine and that turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Pretty good. It's easy and that's what counts on a busy night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Different, yet very good. The addition of the bacon and stewed tomatoes add a nice stew-like taste to the green beans. It enhanced the taste and cut-down on some of the bitterness that green beans can have. We will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This dish is fabulous. I changed a couple things, of course! I used fresh green beans and made this in my slow cooker. I added a lot more bacon and a little bit of sugar to cut the bitternes. Also added mushrooms and onions. The tomatoes make a nice stew with the green beans. Very comforting and very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States