Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes with Roasted Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
This mouth-watering dish was such a hit, I was forced at fork-point to make it three nights in a row. I had to promise to make it again the following week before I was permitted to skip a few nights. The potatoes were so rich, yet fluffy and light and they did an excellent disappearing act. Thanks for this one. It's a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Absolutely delicious! The shallots and fresh thyme give the potatoes a wonderful aroma and flavor. Mincing the shallots is time consuming, but well worth it. My roomates loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This was one of the finest mashed potato receiptes we have ever used. The Yukon gold's taste terrific. We served this on a X-mas day sit down dinner for 8 and most of our guests ate the potato's dry because they tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
These were great. I paired them with the Stuffed Pork Crown Roast, french green beans and potato crescent rolls all found on this site and it was a dinner to remember. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great with a beef dish. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Thank you Robyn, this turned out perfect, we served with creamy herbed pork chops from this site, and it was a real winner. No changes or tweaks needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Mixer is actually optional, if you'd like to make it easier! Just grated yukons on the second largest side of my old fashioned 4 sided grater, once dried. Tukons are so fluffy by the time you add the shallot mixture they seem mashed already & don't get "gummy" from the mixer. I cut up the skins that didn't grate & kept in for fiber(although I couldn't really see where the recipe has you take them off). I will try the shallots via saute until carmelized, as thinking you could cook potatoes the night before, leave in fridge in their jackets, grate them then nuke & add shallot mixture. (Have nuked cooked Yukons easily in past.) In this way it wouldn't take so long to get dinner on the table after a long day at work. I served with tilapia as DH needs potatoes with fish or chiken to call be satisfied. Does anyone know if fiber is as low as shown? Seems should be higher if skins left on? Truly a fabulous five & deserves more any time you can get potatoes in them without butter! Thank you ever so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I needed a little lighter mashed potato recipe for Thanksgiving and was drawn to the ingredient list. It was truly do-ahead and super tasty. First I calculated the recipe for ten servings - as written the dish only used 3 small yukon gold potatoes. I used 5 medium. I roasted the shallots, broth, thyme and olive oil before the turkey went in and left it covered on the counter. When the turkey was half done, I chopped and boiled the potatoes, and finished the recipe (using 2% evaporated milk for a little richer dish). Then I held the finished potatoes in my crockpot set on low until dinner. This is an excellent side - no whipping cream, cream cheese, goat cheese, etc. I could see this side with a grilled flank steak. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Some of the best mashed potatoes i've ever had. The shallots added great, very noticeable, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States