Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes with Roasted Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I honestly don't think you can make a bad potato anything using Yukon Golds. The color alone is beautiful and they're almost rich tasting all by themselves. This recipe was wonderful Robyn and I thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Really yummy! Instead of the evaporated skim milk, I added half & half to enhance the creaminess. My two year old, who won't touch regular mashed potatoes, asked for these leftovers for days! It was a hit when I served them for Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Great with a beef dish. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
A lot to go through for onion flavored mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hialeah, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Mixer is actually optional, if you'd like to make it easier! Just grated yukons on the second largest side of my old fashioned 4 sided grater, once dried. Tukons are so fluffy by the time you add the shallot mixture they seem mashed already & don't get "gummy" from the mixer. I cut up the skins that didn't grate & kept in for fiber(although I couldn't really see where the recipe has you take them off). I will try the shallots via saute until carmelized, as thinking you could cook potatoes the night before, leave in fridge in their jackets, grate them then nuke & add shallot mixture. (Have nuked cooked Yukons easily in past.) In this way it wouldn't take so long to get dinner on the table after a long day at work. I served with tilapia as DH needs potatoes with fish or chiken to call be satisfied. Does anyone know if fiber is as low as shown? Seems should be higher if skins left on? Truly a fabulous five & deserves more any time you can get potatoes in them without butter! Thank you ever so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viki Moore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Thank you Robyn, this turned out perfect, we served with creamy herbed pork chops from this site, and it was a real winner. No changes or tweaks needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This is definitely a keeper recipe. I made this tonight and served it with a cajun seasoned grilled steak. Yummy! I used about 1 1/2 pounds of small Yukon Gold potatoes. My husband thought the shallots were strong, so next time I'll cut back on them by a couple of tablespoons. Though I probably exceeded the initial 6 tablespoons. I thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
These were great. I paired them with the Stuffed Pork Crown Roast, french green beans and potato crescent rolls all found on this site and it was a dinner to remember. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Absolutely delicious! The shallots and fresh thyme give the potatoes a wonderful aroma and flavor. Mincing the shallots is time consuming, but well worth it. My roomates loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I was very disappointed with this recipe. The flavor was very bland and not at all what I expected. I spent more time trying to doctor this recipe up than I did preparing it. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

How to Make Roasted Red Potatoes

See how to make amazing oven-roasted red potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States