Yukon Gold Mashed Potatoes with Roasted Shallots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I prepared the recipe as instructed. They were very tasty but I'd either add another potato or cut back on the evaporated milk as they were a bit thin. Other than that, what a great side dish to any big meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
For the extra time and effort involved I expected something distinctly different from ordinary mashed potatoes. Time is valuable and shallots are expensive - these potatoes, while decent enough, didn't warrant either. Bottom line - good, but still fairly average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Yummy!!! Excellent way to take simple mashed potatoes to elegant! (As a side note, I accidentally missed the broth when cooking the shallots and they still turned out fine - cooked at 350F.) Didn't have evaporated milk on hand, so I used a little half n half and butter, but felt I could still rate this recipe since the main flavor components were intact. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Mixed reviews on this one. I liked the flavor of these potatoes, but nobody else in my family (kids or adults) seemed to care for them. Oh well, you can't please everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These were good. They are on the sweeter side due to the shallots. They were a bit more time consuming due to roasting the shallots. I will probably stay with sour cream and chive mashed potatoes. It was fun to try something new though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Some of the best mashed potatoes i've ever had. The shallots added great, very noticeable, flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Awesome! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann-Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I needed a little lighter mashed potato recipe for Thanksgiving and was drawn to the ingredient list. It was truly do-ahead and super tasty. First I calculated the recipe for ten servings - as written the dish only used 3 small yukon gold potatoes. I used 5 medium. I roasted the shallots, broth, thyme and olive oil before the turkey went in and left it covered on the counter. When the turkey was half done, I chopped and boiled the potatoes, and finished the recipe (using 2% evaporated milk for a little richer dish). Then I held the finished potatoes in my crockpot set on low until dinner. This is an excellent side - no whipping cream, cream cheese, goat cheese, etc. I could see this side with a grilled flank steak. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I tested the recipe to see if I wanted to these for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone agreed that they were good, but not great. I will mostly likely make them again, just not for a holiday meal when there's a lot going on in the kitchen already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were the best mashed potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States