Yucatan Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was the perfect side for my Labor Day BBQ. I wanted something a little different and this was it. The lime dressing made it nice and zesty and I loved the idea of adding chiles and green olives. I will be making this again. The only things I did differently was I used red onion instead of white, added a little bit of fresh cilantro and to the dressing, added a teaspoon of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix. I really enjoyed this salad and so did my family. Thanks Lars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
really tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I'm making it the 2nd time. My family really enjoyed it -- different, yet all the flavors come together nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
I cut the oil down to two tablespoons and used olive oil instead. Instead of powdered mustard I used dijon because I ran out of powdered. I think the powdered would be better.. I used a tablespoon of pickle relish with two cut up pickled jalapenos - yum. The green olives give it that salty kick that is just inspired. Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA
Living In: Okemos, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Excellent. Different: It took me about 40 minutes to prepare it (including cook-time) and I substituted the vegetable oil w/ olive oil and added cilantro like one of the other suggestions. Worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
DELICIOUS! I love this recipe. I used olive oil for the dressing rather than vegetable oil, and I think it added a little richness to it. Amazing, I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I MADE THIS FOR MY FOURTH OF JULY BBQ. FOLLOWED TH RECIPE EXACTLY. IT DID NOT HAVE A GOOD FLAVOR, IT WAS VERY GREASY. I AM NOT SURE WHY IT GOT GOOD REVIEWS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Recipes like this are why I love this site. Imaginative, simple, attractive, and tasty enough to be noticed on a crowded potluck table. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is my first review, unfortunately it's a poor one. The taste was good. I used dill instead of sweet pickles and didn't end up using the peppers. However it was way too oily. One cup of oil (I used olive instead of vegetable) was WAAAAAAY too much. If I were to make it again, and I'm not sure I will, I'd cut the oil in half, add a little more lime and maybe some cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
This is very different and very good, too. Honestly, I was concerned with the high fat content on this recipe. Even putting that aside, the amount of oil seemed excessive, so I cut it in half with good success. The warm potatoes soaked up the dressing quickly, and there was no oil sitting in the bottom of the bowl. I charred the poblano peppers outside on the grill, and you do get an occasional zing from the poblanos (not much, it's subtle). I mixed up the dressing and thought it was a little bland, so I added more lime juice, and I tossed in some chopped red bell pepper for a pop of color. Nice side dish Lars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Potato Salad

This creamy potato salad tastes delicious chilled.

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States