Yuca French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy! I had these in a New Orleans restaurant (RioMar) with a hanger steak and chimichuri sauce; it was fabulous. I want it all the time now. And yes, add salt and garlic to the fries after frying - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These are EXCELLENT. My wife is Peruvian by birth, and she introduced me to yucca. Only the adventurous need try it, because it its NOT potatoes. One taste though, and I bet you'll like it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this is a great version of potatoes, i like to leave the skin on i think it gives it more texture,and even flavor.. :P but thats just me... beked or fried yuca is really good you can even used it on any other stew or mashed whatever you have in mind :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamasita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! I prefer garlic salt so I always add that instead of plain salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Its very impoartant to note there are many varieties of yuca root. The varieties breakdown into two main categories: bitter and sweet. I've only tried this recipe with the sweet variety. I've never seen bitter in the market, but if its not labeled, I ask the produce staff to make sure its sweet. Also, the skin contains a mild poison, so these fries should not be prepared with the skin. I made these fries with garlic -- added slices of garlic to the boiling water and lots of minced garlic was tossed in with the fries, yum! Also, I seasoned the fries with chipolte pepper and coarse sea salt. This is now my new recipe for garlic fries. Its a great replacement for starchy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRANQUILTREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very yummy!!Serve with ketchup and mayo mix, as dipping sauce and even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made these but i steamed mine before frying and they tasted super crispy and soft like pollo tropical yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yani42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These fries were very good and so easy to make, thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Here are some alternatives: 1. Prior to frying, pressure cook the yuca fries for about 4-5 minutes on high pressure. Pressure cook as you would cut potatoes. 2. We used the entire yuca tuber (after peeling), including the core and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I used several good suggestions from the commenters, such as pre-cooking with spices/herbs, and baking instead of frying. It came out superb! Thanks to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States