Yuca French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yuca is awesome. But, you don't have to fry it or boil it! Prepare the Yuca the same way in 4" wedges and then steam it until it is almost fully cooked. Then dip the steamed Yucas in a solution of fresh squeezed lime, salt (go lightly), onion powder, garlic powder, or chopped fresh garlic, chipotle chile powder, etc... (whatever you think tastes good) and then broil them real quick on a cookie sheet using no oil. Once browned flip them over and brown the other side. They will end up soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. Yumm... and no fried oils! Heart Healthy! Plant Strong! PS. Somebody stated that they eat the skin. Everything I have ever read states that the skin is toxic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Its very impoartant to note there are many varieties of yuca root. The varieties breakdown into two main categories: bitter and sweet. I've only tried this recipe with the sweet variety. I've never seen bitter in the market, but if its not labeled, I ask the produce staff to make sure its sweet. Also, the skin contains a mild poison, so these fries should not be prepared with the skin. I made these fries with garlic -- added slices of garlic to the boiling water and lots of minced garlic was tossed in with the fries, yum! Also, I seasoned the fries with chipolte pepper and coarse sea salt. This is now my new recipe for garlic fries. Its a great replacement for starchy potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRANQUILTREE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
These were fantastic. I gave it a 4 only because I made so many changes, but the concept is great! My fiance can't eat nightshades so he really misses traditional potato fries, I made these the other day and they were a hit! I did some research online and found the best way to cook is to boil until just tender (I used water and threw in a bouillon cube for flavor) and then drained, let cool and cut like steak fries, coated with Olive oil spray and tossed in a mix of onion powder, salt, pepper and some Nutritional yeast - baked until crispy turning once or twice. We'll be making these ALL the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kenmore, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These fries were very good and so easy to make, thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very yummy!!Serve with ketchup and mayo mix, as dipping sauce and even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Not bad. I've had this at restaurants and liked it, but couldn't remember if they served a sauce with it. We ended up eating them with salt, garlic powder, and seasoned salt. They were still good, but this stuff is a lot of work! That skin and fibrous pit are certainly something. I think I might bake them next time--fried foods don't always agree with me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I don't have a deep fryer so I fried them in a skillet instead - it upped the cooking to time to about 10 minutes per batch. It's tough to see the fibrous core after you've boiled them so I cut out whatver I thought was that. They came out very good...a little tough but still very tasty. We sprinkled salt on them after removing them from the oil and served with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayViolet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weehawken, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I boiled and then baked. They came out nice and crispy. I also added onion powder, garlic powder, salt & pepper. Something was missing but I think it was the dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made these but i steamed mine before frying and they tasted super crispy and soft like pollo tropical yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yani42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! I prefer garlic salt so I always add that instead of plain salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States