Yuca French Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I used several good suggestions from the commenters, such as pre-cooking with spices/herbs, and baking instead of frying. It came out superb! Thanks to all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Here are some alternatives: 1. Prior to frying, pressure cook the yuca fries for about 4-5 minutes on high pressure. Pressure cook as you would cut potatoes. 2. We used the entire yuca tuber (after peeling), including the core and it was just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These are EXCELLENT. My wife is Peruvian by birth, and she introduced me to yucca. Only the adventurous need try it, because it its NOT potatoes. One taste though, and I bet you'll like it :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made these but i steamed mine before frying and they tasted super crispy and soft like pollo tropical yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yani42

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These fries were very good and so easy to make, thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Very yummy!!Serve with ketchup and mayo mix, as dipping sauce and even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Yuca is awesome. But, you don't have to fry it or boil it! Prepare the Yuca the same way in 4" wedges and then steam it until it is almost fully cooked. Then dip the steamed Yucas in a solution of fresh squeezed lime, salt (go lightly), onion powder, garlic powder, or chopped fresh garlic, chipotle chile powder, etc... (whatever you think tastes good) and then broil them real quick on a cookie sheet using no oil. Once browned flip them over and brown the other side. They will end up soft on the inside and crispy on the outside. Yumm... and no fried oils! Heart Healthy! Plant Strong! PS. Somebody stated that they eat the skin. Everything I have ever read states that the skin is toxic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Excellent! I prefer garlic salt so I always add that instead of plain salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
I boiled and then baked. They came out nice and crispy. I also added onion powder, garlic powder, salt & pepper. Something was missing but I think it was the dipping sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Yummy! I had these in a New Orleans restaurant (RioMar) with a hanger steak and chimichuri sauce; it was fabulous. I want it all the time now. And yes, add salt and garlic to the fries after frying - you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make French Fries

Discover the tricks restaurants use to get perfect, super-crispy French fries.

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

These fries stay crispy even reheated in the microwave!

Baked French Fries I

See the tasty way to make baked French fries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States